Research Guides: Transfer Transitions (GE 3000): Start Your Research Here

Career Exploration and Resume Writing Resources

Visit the Career Exploration and Resume Writing Guide for resources that will help you explore various career options for your major. Also provides recommendations for resources that will help with the resume-writing process.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

Electronic Resource

Crime and Criminal Behavior

Electronic Resource

Cultural Sociology of Divorce

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-4

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Gender in Media

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Social Problems

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Contemporary Families: Considering the Past, Contemplating the Future

Electronic Resource

Handbook of World Families

Main Collection

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

SAGE Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society

Electronic Resource

SAGE Handbook of Family Communication

Electronic Resource

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia

Main Collection

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-5

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices

Electronic Resource

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics. When you are ready to search for peer-reviewed journal articles, though, click instead on the "Find Articles" tab above.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Facts on File Online Databases (now Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Offers a menu of all of the Facts on File (now Infobase Learning) reference and news databases, with options for searching simultaneously in several databases.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Great source of information about careers and industries, with full-text access to job and industry profile articles published in books like the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. Also provides select "job videos."
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

BBC Shakespeare Plays (Ambrose Video) This link opens in a new window Thirty seven plays from the BBC television Shakespeare series from 1978 to 1985.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
ICE Learning Center (International Clinical Educators) This link opens in a new window Features videos for physical and occupational therapy. Videos are "filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnosis include musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental and behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics."
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window Kean University subscribes to LinkedIn Learning, which provides video courses focusing on creative, business, software, and technology skills. Click the link here, then login with your Kean Google email username and password.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Offers streaming audio access to CDs, focusing on classical music but also including some jazz, folk, blues, world, pop, rock, gospel, and spoken word.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window Offers streaming audio access to CDs by jazz legends and contemporary jazz artists.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window Features a library of streaming videos relevant for clinical psychology.
Stash (Stash Media) -- Click on SIGN IN This link opens in a new window Online video library of Animation VFX and Motion Design Note: Click on SIGN IN.
Theatre in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window A collection of some of the world's best-loved plays, performances, documentaries, and even rehearsals, all provided in full streaming video. Includes many world renown actors and directors.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more. NOTE: First-time users must create an account on campus before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

The following databases provide information that will help you identify psychological tests and measuring instruments.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) This link opens in a new window Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers reviews of standardized tests in education, business, psychology, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycTests (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window “Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.”

Transfer Transitions (GE 3000)

Career Exploration and Resume Writing Resources

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender

Handbook of World Families

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Recommended Statistics Databases

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact