Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Composition (ENG 1030-1033)

This guide serves as a gateway to library research for students enrolled in the College Composition course. Additional resources focus on the evaluation of sources.

Citation Style Brochures

The following brochure provides information regarding documenting sources in various citation styles, including APA, MLA, Chicago style, and more. 

Citation Style Guides Gallery

ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

AMA Manual of Style

(American Medical Association)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

American Sociological Association Style Guide

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, Sixth Edition

Electronic Resource
Due to Federal Copyright Law, users may print one copy for their personal use only.

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian manual)

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

MLA Handbook

(8th Edition)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

MLA Handbook (9th Edition)

Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)

(6th Edition)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)

(7th Edition)
Service Desk (First Floor)
Non-circulating

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (Council of Science Editors)

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Academic Integrity at Kean University

Kean University's Academic Integrity Policy explains the importance placed on intellectual honesty, personal ethics and values for all members of the Kean academic community.

Plagiarism is one type of academic integrity violation, and it has very serious consequences. In order to avoid committing plagiarism, the work presented by an individual must truly represent the work of that person, and such work must acknowledge the source of any words, ideas, data, images, music, etc. that have been incorporated into a paper, presentation, Web site, multimedia project, and so on. 

Citations to the original source material must accompany word-for-word quotes enclosed in quotation marks, block quotations, and paraphrased material (ideas that you have put into your own words).

While you gather source material for your research projects, make sure that you keep track of the information you will need in order to acknowledge your sources.

EndNote Online

Use -- an online bibliographic citation manager -- to keep track of the books and articles you locate in various research databases. You can also manually add citation information to EndNote Online from books and print journals articles you have on hand. 

EndNote Online will help you to organize your source information and then to create bibliographies in your required citation styles (such as APA or MLA).

Find out more about EndNote Online, including how to sign up for your own free account