Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice

Features resources relevant for criminal justice, crime, juvenile crime, law enforcement, policing, and corrections.

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources for Criminal Justice:

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Black's Law Dictionary

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Corporate Crime: A Reference Handbook

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Crime and Criminal Behavior

Electronic Resource

Crime and Criminal Behavior

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Criminology

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement

Main Collection

Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook

Main Collection

Police and Law Enforcement

Electronic Resource

The SAGE Dictionary of Criminology

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems

Main Collection

Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password. 

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

The following databases provide information that will help you identify psychological tests and measuring instruments.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Statistics Databases

Several of the library's statistics databases are listed below. Please also refer to the Criminal Justice and Population Statistics websites listed under the Find Web Sites tab, where you will find links to the Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), and U.S. Census.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.