Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grant Funding and Proposal Writing

This guide contains resources on grant funding opportunities as well as tips and examples for proposal writing.

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The Pivot database listed below is provided courtesy of Kean University's Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP). This database is available to members of the Kean community. For more information about Pivot, please visit the ORSP website

The other databases listed below are available through the Library. Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

  Related Research Guides

Recommended Reference Titles

Annual Register of Grant Support

This comprehensive directory provides information regarding sources of grant funding, including government agencies, public and private foundations, corporations, educational associations, and more.
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Complete Writing Guide to NIH Behavioral Science Grants

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Directory of Research Grants 2006

This directory lists programs that provide grant funding for research projects in "medicine, the physical and social sciences, the arts and humanities, education, community and economic development, and children and youth programs."
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Finding Funding

The latest edition of this resource incorporates the latest technologies and electronic resources relating to the grantwriting process, including "Grants.gov, e-Grant, e-Reader, and e-Application."
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Foundation Directory

Published by the Foundation Center, this comprehensive directory of U.S. private and community foundations provides information about possible sources of funds.
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

National Directory of Corporate Giving

Published by the Foundation Center, this directory lists direct corporate giving programs as well as "foundations and grantmaking public charities" that have been "established and funded primarily by companies."
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Proposal Writing: Effective Grantsmanship

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Successful Grant Writing

This resource provides guidance for the entire grantseeking process: location of funding sources, understanding a call for proposals, budget development, formation of a collaborative team, writing and submission of a proposal, and grant award management.
Reference Collection (Second Floor)