Cancer Awareness

• About Colorectal Cancer "Colorectal cancer starts in the colon or the rectum. These cancers can also be called colon cancer or rectal cancer, depending on where they start. Colon cancer and rectal cancer are often grouped together because they have many features in common."
• After Colorectal Cancer Treatment "Get information about life as a cancer survivor, next steps, and what you can do to help."
• Colorectal Cancer Causes, Risk Factors, and Prevention "Learn about the risk factors for colorectal cancer and what you might be able to do to help lower your risk."
• Colorectal Cancer Early Detection, Diagnosis, and Staging "Know the signs and symptoms of colorectal cancer. Find out how colorectal cancer is tested for, diagnosed, and staged."
• Colorectal Cancer Facts & Figures 2023-2025 This "report is an educational companion for Colorectal Cancer Statistics, 2023, a scientific paper published in the American Cancer Society flagship journal, CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians."
• Colorectal Cancer Fact Sheet for Patients and Caregivers This fact sheet provides details about risk factors for colorectal cancer along with tips for prevention, screening and early detection, signs and symptoms, and treatment.
• Treating Colorectal Cancer "If you’ve been diagnosed with colorectal cancer, your cancer care team will discuss your treatment options with you. It’s important that you think carefully about each of your choices. Weigh the benefits of each treatment option against the possible risks and side effects."

• Colorectal Cancer—Patient Version, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health "Colorectal cancer often begins as a growth called a polyp inside the colon or rectum. Finding and removing polyps can prevent colorectal cancer. Explore the links on this page to learn more about colorectal cancer prevention, screening, treatment, statistics, research, clinical trials, and more."

• CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window

  Features scholarly information for over 50 nursing specialties and allied health research and provides access to more than 2,000+ full-text journals. The database also includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, and research Instruments.
• Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window

  Provides access to a wide range of family health topics including nutrition, sports injuries, active living, and wellness.
• EBSCOhost Nursing, Health and Medical Resources This link opens in a new window

  Select from Kean's EBSCOhost nursing, health, and medical databases for simultaneous searching.
• Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window

  A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
• Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window

  Offers consumer health information, covering topics such as childcare, nutrition, sports medicine, food science, and general health.
• MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window

  Contains references to authoritative literature on nursing, medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and more.
• ProQuest: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window

  Conduct simultaneous searching of Kean's ProQuest databases focusing on health and medicine.
• SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window

  Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.