Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Museums with Pre-Columbian holdings
National Museum of the American Indian
Maya collections, especially Highland Guatemala Maya materials, are outstanding, especially for textiles. Recent donations of well documented mid to late twentieth-century collections complement earlier holdings, including Quiche dance costumes from Totonicapan and other objects, including masks, ceramics, engraved gourds, and weaving tools. Lowland Maya collections, especially Lacandon objects, include hunting equipment, tools, textiles, and ceramics. The Andes collections are large and diverse.
Brooklyn Museum of Art
Renowned collections of Andean textiles: Paracas, Nazca.
American Museum of Natural History
Strong collection of Olmec and Maya artifacts.
Museum Nacional de Antropologia
The national anthropology museum of Mexico; exhibitions detailing the cultures of Mesoamerica from the Olmec to the Aztec.
Museo Nacional de Arqueologia, Antropologia e historia del Peru
Permanent exhibitions on the major Pre-Columbian cultures of the region.
Dumbarton Oaks Pre-Columbian Collection
The Pre-Columbian Collection includes objects created during three thousand years of history in Mesoamerica, the Andes, and the Intermediate Area of Latin America. Its holdings of over seven hundred objects include stone sculpture, ceramics, architectural panels, small metal objects, and textiles. Selected objects are on display in the Pre-Columbian Pavilion designed by Philip Johnson.