Register and Vote
Use this guide to gather information to guide your choices in the voting booth (or when filling out an absentee ballot). In the meantime, make sure that you register so you can exercise your right to vote!
Recommended Multimedia Databases
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Library Barcode number. Find out how to get a Barcode
Subject-Focused Encyclopedias
Need to select a research topic or find background information?
The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.
The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.
Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.
This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.
Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a unique database that locates both printed and online reference material that might otherwise remain hidden. It searches back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference works owned by Kean University Library.
Related Research Guides
Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Library Barcode number. Find out how to get a Barcode.
- CountryWatch Elections Central
- Encyclopedia of Political Science (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly)
- Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Cengage Learning)
- Guide to U.S. Elections (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly)
- Oxford Reference (Oxford University Press)
- Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly)
- SAGE Knowledge: Politics and International Relations
- Women in American Politics (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly)
Statistics Databases
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Library Barcode number. Find out how to get a Barcode.
Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias
The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to Elections. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the first floor or in the Reference Collection Annex on the second floor of the Kean University Library. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.
Volumes 1-2
Volumes 1-2
Volumes 1-2
Volumes 1-2
Volumes 1-7
Volumes 1-7
Volumes 1-2
Volumes 1-2

Kean University Library |
Contact Info Craig Anderson Linda Cifelli Janette González Shirley Horbatt Eleanor McKnight Chrisler Pitts Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask a Librarian
Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.



Loading...
