Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Elections

This guide features information and resources for research about the United States electoral process on the federal, state, and local level.

Election Research Guide Team


Contact Info:
 
Craig Anderson
cjanders@kean.edu

Linda Cifelli
lcifelli@kean.edu

Janette González
jagonzal@kean.edu

Shirley Horbatt

Eleanor McKnight
eamcknigh@kean.edu

Chrisler Pitts
cpitts@kean.edu

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Register and Vote

Use this guide to gather information to guide your choices in the voting booth (or when filling out an absentee ballot). In the meantime, make sure that you register so you can exercise your right to vote!

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Almanac of American Politics 2010

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Campaign and Election Reform: A Reference Handbook

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library0 Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Elections A to Z

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Political Communication

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of U. S. Political History

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-7

Guide to U. S. Elections

Electronic Resource

Presidential Elections, 1789-2008

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Statistics Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Library Barcode number. Find out how to get a Barcode