Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Challenges in Criminal Justice

Electronic Resource 2022

Crime, Criminal Justice and Religion

Electronic Resource 2023

Criminal Justice and the Pursuit of Truth

Electronic Resource 2021

Criminal Law

Electronic Resource 2020

Efficiency and Bureaucratisation of Criminal Justice : Global Trends

Electronic Resource 2023

Marketisation and Privatisation in Criminal Justice

Electronic Resource 2020

Nordic Criminal Justice in a Global Context

Electronic Resource 2022

Orchestrating Diversity in International Criminal Justice

Electronic Resource 2021

Paralysing International Criminal Justice

Electronic Resource 2020

The future of EU criminal justice policy and practice : legal and criminological perspectives

Electronic Resource 2019

Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
HeinOnline: The Modern Link to Legal History Features archival access to select law reviews and law journals; documents by and about U.S. presidents; historical and contemporary reports and books about the U.S. Supreme Court.
LexisNexis -- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (VALE) Offers business, news, and legal information from sources such as newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, wire services, and transcripts. Also features company profiles, detailed financials, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and SEC filings, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, federal regulations, and state administrative codes. This database replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Kean University's subscription to Oxford Bibliographies provides subject modules focusing on Criminology, Education, Psychology, and Social Work. For these modules, "leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult."
SAGE Knowledge Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.
Scopus (Elsevier) Features citations and abstracts from peer-reviewed literature (including open access journals), trade journals, books, patent records, and conference proceedings. Scopus offers many tools for analysis, assessment, and comparison of authors, citations, and periodicals. Subject coverage includes science, technology, medicine, social science, and humanities.
Women and the Law (Peggy) -- HeinOnline Provides books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to women’s roles in society and the law, revealing the progression of women’s roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Includes more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School’s Feminism and Legal Theory Project, which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.

Statistics Databases

Several of the library's statistics databases are listed below. Please also refer to the Criminal Justice and Population Statistics websites listed under the Find Web Sites tab, where you will find links to the Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), and U.S. Census.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Criminal Justice

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Guide Editor

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Challenges in Criminal Justice

Crime, Criminal Justice and Religion

Criminal Justice and the Pursuit of Truth

Criminal Law

Efficiency and Bureaucratisation of Criminal Justice : Global Trends

Marketisation and Privatisation in Criminal Justice

Nordic Criminal Justice in a Global Context

Orchestrating Diversity in International Criminal Justice

Paralysing International Criminal Justice

The future of EU criminal justice policy and practice : legal and criminological perspectives

Reference Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Statistics Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact