Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject Focused Encyclopedias

The Business Writer's Handbook

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Handbook of Creative Writing

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-14

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Nancy Thompson Library Reference Collection
Electronic Resource

Writer's Market 2018

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Related Research Guides