Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech Communication as Critical Citizenship (COMM 1402)

This guide serves as a gateway to library research for students enrolled in the Speech Communication as Critical Citizenship course.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of New Jersey

Electronic Resource 2004

Europa World Year Book

Reference Collection (Second Floor) 2016

Guide to Countries of the World

Electronic Resource 2016

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia

Main Collection

The Subject of Human Rights

Electronic Resource 2020

Human Rights and Social Care

Electronic Resource 2018

The Psychology of Oppression

Electronic Resource 2017

Realignment, Region, and Race

Electronic Resource 2018

Thomas Pynchon, Sex, and Gender

Electronic Resource 2018

The Transgender Exigency

Electronic Resource 2021

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries covering multidisciplinary topics. These are great sources of background information on countless topics and might be especially helpful for your informative speech.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.