Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Roaring 20s

This guide examines the art and culture of the 1920s period of American History from a literary and historical viewpoint.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The 1920s (1920-1929)

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America

Reference Collection Annex - 2nd Floor

Family in Society: Essential Primary Sources

Main Collection (Second Floor)

Immigration in U. S. History

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Social History of the United States: The 1920s

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Twenties in America

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.