Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion

Features resources relevant for the study of religion.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.

Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.  

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Hinduism

Main Collection

Encyclopaedia Judaica

Electronic Resource

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an

Nancy Thompson Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of African American Religions

Nancy Thompson Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Buddhism

Nancy Thompson Library Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Religion

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion

Nancy Thompson Library Reference Collection

Islam in America

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection
Electronic Resource

Nanzan Guide to Japanese Religions

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

New Catholic Encyclopedia

Electronic Resource

Voices of Islam

Nancy Thompson Library Reference Collection

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.