Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Puerto Rico and Puerto Rican Studies

This guide contains library resources on Puerto Rico and The Puerto Rican Studies as well as links to internal and external sources on the topic, including additional sources on "Puerto Rico's history,culture and governmet" in Spanish.

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources on Puerto Rican Studies

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebration: A Country-by-Country Guide

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World’s Cultures

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Social Problems

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World

Main Collection

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

Handbook of World Families

Main Collection

History of Puerto Rico: A Panorama of its People

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions

Main Collection

National Geographic Almanac of Geography

Reference Collection -2nd floor

Puerto Rico Past and Present: An Encyclopedia

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

World Music: The Basics

Main Collection

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.