Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music

Provides resources relevant for music.

Music Study Guides

These study guides were compiled by Dr. Anthony Scelba, past chair of the Kean University Conservatory of Music and Director of the Concert Artist Program for the benefit of students of the Kean Music program.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Caribbean Popular Music

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

Classic American Popular Song

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

Classical

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World

Electronic Resource
Vol. 8, North America

Dictionary of Music Education

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

The Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

First published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Icons of Hip Hop

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

Music in the Middle Ages

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection: 29 volume set

Oxford History of Western Music

6 volume set
Nancy Thompson Library Main Collection

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.