Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jazz Studies

This guide was designed to celebrate Jazz Appreciation Month in April. The Jazz Studies Guide features information and resources on Jazz music from its origins to the present.

OER

Click on the link below to search Open Educational Resources on Jazz and Jazz Studies

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

African American Almanac

Electronic Resource
This book features a chapter on "Blues and Jazz -- Chapter 24."

Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Encyclopedia of Jazz

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Guide to Jazz

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Jazz A-Z

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Jazz Cultures

Electronic Resource

Jazz Portraits: The Lives and Music of the Jazz Masters

Main Collection (Second Floor)

Jazz Standards

Electronic Resource

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Rise of a Jazz Art World

Electronic Resource

Social History of the United States

Reference Collection (First Floor)
Volumes 1-10

Why Jazz?: A Concise Guide

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Do you need a research topic?