Group Communication (ID 2415)

• Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window Features news from approximately 12,000 local, regional, national, and international sources, including the Newark Star-Ledger and over 180 New Jersey newswires, newspapers, transcripts, and blogs. Updated daily, it offers valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events.
• Issues & Controversies (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Good starting point for gathering background information (including pro and con perspectives) on current hot topics; helpful source of research topic ideas.
• Points of View Reference Source (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Provides essays that present opposing viewpoints on a variety of current topics. This is a great tool for researching the pros and cons of controversial issues.

• CQ Press Library (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window Provides simultaneous searching of all Congressional Quarterly Press online collections, featuring resources in the fields of government, politics, and public affairs. Includes access to many resources of the U.S. government.
• Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
• Infobase Learning (formerly Facts on File Online Databases) This link opens in a new window Offers a menu of all of the Facts on File reference and news databases, with options for searching simultaneously in several databases.
• SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

• Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
• Kanopy (OverDrive, Inc.) This link opens in a new window Offers access to a broad selection of streaming videos for education and training, feature films, documentaries, foreign-language films, and more. This database also includes the Media Education Foundation Collection. Note: Kanopy is maintained to support classroom instruction, and each title is purchased individually. Films will be added to the collection by Faculty request only. Faculty can select titles to use in their courses by completing the form that displays when choosing a film not yet licensed. Thank you.
• Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Offers streaming audio access to CDs, focusing on classical music but also including some jazz, folk, blues, world, pop, rock, gospel, and spoken word.
• Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window Offers streaming audio access to CDs by jazz legends and contemporary jazz artists.

• PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
• Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
• Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, science, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.