Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to select a research topic or find background information?
The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.
This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.
Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) (VALE) Provides corporate data, in-depth industry analyses, summary financials, and information on company locations, top competitors, and officers. Also features worldwide market data reports and analytical articles covering economic and political topics. Includes information provided by Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots (Snapdata International Group).
IBISWorld Provides industry market research and industry risk ratings on more than 700 American industries. Includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chains, and competitor activity ascertained from analysis of economic, demographic, and government data.
MarketLine Advantage Offers company profiles (including SWOT analyses), case studies, country information, and comprehensive market information on a variety of industries.
Mergent Online (FTSE Russell) Provides global company and industry information; includes public company descriptions, financial data, annual reports, equity reports, industry reports, and country profiles.
NOTE: Permits only five simultaneous users. Please Log Out when finished.
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) (JerseyClicks) (NJSL) Directory of basic information about U.S. and Canadian companies, U.S. health care providers, and U.S. and Canadian residents. Good for finding phone numbers.
Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias
The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to Company and Industry Information. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
Call Number: Ref HF 3021 .H67 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH provides information about specific jobs, including educational requirements, salary range, availability of jobs, job requirements, and working conditions.
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2018-2019 by
Call Number: Ref HF5382.5 .U5 O33 2018/19
Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Provides job descriptions and statistics from the U.S. Department of Labor.
Shirley Horbatt is the original author of this guide, which she updated through March 2016.
Ask a Librarian
Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.