Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.
|
Narrow/ Focus Your Search |
Broaden/ Expand Your Search |
|
And or Not connector between concepts |
“Or” connector between synonyms |
|
Field Limiters, e.g., dates, type of document |
Truncation or Wildcard (e.g., child*) |
|
Use the controlled vocabulary (human assigned main topics --Thesaurus) |
Free-text or keyword searching (computer mediated, no human intervention) |
|
Phrase or proximity searching, e.g., first year n3 retention |
You can find articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, or newspapers by searching in periodical databases. Periodical databases always contain:
They may also contain:
When full-text links are not available, you can check for full-text access in other databases by clicking 
Full Text Finder.
Please note: sometimes you see only the symbol (and not the words "Full Text Finder"). In these cases, click the symbol to check for full-text access in other databases.
A scholarly, or peer-reviewed, journal contains articles that have been critiqued, reviewed, or refereed by scholars in a specific field.
Select the Periodicals List when you know the title of a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper and you want to find out if it is available at the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. The list will link directly to titles that are available electronically.
Click the link listed below for help with finding periodicals:
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.
Books or journal articles not owned by the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons may be requested from other libraries through interlibrary loan. Patrons will be notified by e-mail when books are ready to be picked up at the Circulation Desk. Books will be due back to the Learning Commons by the specified due date. Copies of articles and book chapters will be emailed to the patron. Select the appropriate form from the page linked below, then complete and submit the form online.
