Research Guides: Research Methods in Behavioral Sciences (ID 5015): Find Web Sites

Testing, Assessment, and Research Resources

Web Sites for Psychology

Addiction Search "Maintained by Emil Chiauzzi, a clinical psychologist currently working on multimedia addiction treatment projects, this directory of links is organized into nine categories: news, the addictions, statistics, populations, treatment, prevention, social issues, organizations, and harm reduction."
Authentic Happiness (University of Pennsylvania) Presents a new branch of psychology which focuses on the empirical study of such things as positive emotions, strengths-based character, and healthy institutions.
Cogprints "Welcome to CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science ... as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition."
DreamBank Contains "a collection of over 20,000 dream reports. The reports come from a variety of different sources and research studies, from people ages 7 to 74, and they can be analyzed using the search engine and statistical programs built into this site."
International Personality Item Pool: A Scientific Collaboratory* for the Development of Advanced Measures of Personality and Other Individual Differences "This IPIP Website is intended to provide rapid access to measures of individual differences, all in the public domain, to be developed conjointly among scientists worldwide."
Internet Mental Health This site is "a free encyclopedia of mental health information" created with a broad-based audience in mind. Its goal is to "improve understanding, diagnosis, and treatment of mental illness throughout the world."
National Center for PTSD "National Center for PTSD attempts to be the clearinghouse for all information and activities related to posttraumatic stress disorder."
National Institute of Mental Health Seeks to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illness through research.
NeuropsychologyCentral.Com "The World Wide Web meta-source devoted exclusively to the subject of Human Neuropsychology ... a new branch of science with the specific and unique aim of investigating the role of individual brain systems in complex forms of mental activity."
Personality Project "These pages are meant to guide those interested in personality theory and research to the current personality research literature."
Psych Web "This Web site contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology."
Psych Central Community Connection (PCCC) "Psych Central ... is a comprehensive compilation of Web resources by well-qualified editors on topics related to psychology, psychiatry, and social work."
Psychology Career Center Provides "highly relevant, reliable and up-to-date career, employment and education information."
PSYCLINE Guide to Psychology and Social Science Journals on the Web
Web Center for Social Research Methods "This website is for people involved in applied social research and evaluation. You'll find lots of resources and links to other locations on the Web that deal in applied social research methods."

Psychology Organizations

American Psychological Association: APA Online A scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States that seeks to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people’s lives.
Association for Humanistic Psychology The Association for Humanistic Psychology is the voice of ordinary people with an extraordinary vision for a more conscious and humane global society. Founded in 1962 as a bold new affirmative approach to psychology and life.
Association for Psychological Science A nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at the national and international level. Seeks to to promote, protect, and advance the interests of scientifically oriented psychology in research, application, teaching, and the improvement of human welfare.
National Association of School Psychologists NASP represents school psychology and supports school psychologists to enhance the learning and mental health of all children and youth.
New Jersey Association of School Psychologists The mission of NJASP is to: (1) Advocate for all children to realize their full potential, and (2) Promote school psychological services for children and families.
New Jersey Psychological Association This professional organization representing psychologists throughout the state of New Jersey provides information and resources for the public and professionals in the mental health community that can improve lives, families, workplaces, communities, and practices.
Self-Help Sourcebook Online "This guide has been developed to act as your starting point for finding every type of national, international, model and online self-help support group that is available."

Beyond Google

Even though Google is capable of finding a great many Web sites, the task of wading through and evaluating these sites can be quite daunting. This page is meant to save you time by presenting recommended Web sites that have been evaluated by librarians.

Click the link below for more information about evaluating resources, including explanations of Web site domains, such as .edu, .gov, .org, .com, .net, and so on.

Guidelines for Critical Evaluation of Sources

Research Methods in Behavioral Sciences (ID 5015)

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Testing, Assessment, and Research Resources

Web Sites for Psychology

Psychology Organizations

Beyond Google

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact