Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Immigration

This guide was originally created for the Human Rights Institute of Kean University's Fourth Annual Conference -- Immigration: A Melting Pot No More? The conference was held on February 11, 2011.

My Profile

Profile Photo
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact:
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli lcifelli@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts cpitts@kean.edu
Website

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Related Research Guides

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources for Immigration:

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias and Other Reference Resources

American Immigration

Electronic Resource

Atlas of American Migration

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of American Urban History

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of Diasporas

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

Immigration and Multiculturalism

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Immigration in U. S. History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Social History of the United States

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-10

Recommended Online Encyclopedia and Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Do you need a research topic?