Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latinx/Hispanic Heritage

This guide contains library resources on Hispanic and Latinx Heritage as well as links to internal and external sources on the topic, including additional sources on "La Herencia Hispana" in Spanish.

My Profile

Profile Photo
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact:
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli lcifelli@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts cpitts@kean.edu
Website

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Guide Credits

Janette Gonzalez is the original author of this guide, which she updated through June 2018.

Related Research Guides

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources for Hispanic Heritage:

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations: A Country-by-Country Guide

GT 3930 .E53 2006
Main Collection (2nd Floor)

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture

E 184 .S75 E59 2004
Reference Collection (2nd Floor)

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World’s Cultures

HQ 16 .E53 2003
Main Collection (3rd Floor)

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions

BL 65 .H78 H8595 2005
Main Collection (2nd Floor)

National Geographic Almanac of Geography

G123 .N37 2005
Reference Collection (2nd Floor)

Notable Latino Writers

Electronic Resource

Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995

PS663 .M55 V64 1996
Main Collection (3rd Floor)

World Music: The Basics

ML3545 .N54 2005
Main Collection (3rd Floor)

 

Notable Latino Americans

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.