Research Guides: Physical Education, Recreation, and Health: Start Your Research Here

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Adolescent Health Sourcebook

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Athletic Training Exam Review

Electronic Resource

Common Terminology, Abbreviations and Symbols for Therapeutic Recreation ...

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Education

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Health Education

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Sports Studies

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of School Health

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Title IX and Sports

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Manual of School Health

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

National Health Education Standards

Electronic Resource

National Standards and Guidelines for Physical Education Teacher Education

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Sports Injuries Sourcebook

Electronic Resource

Integrative Preventive Medicine

Electronic Resource

ACSM's Certification Review

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Handbook of Physical Education

Electronic Resource

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Kean University's subscription to Oxford Bibliographies provides subject modules focusing on Criminology, Education, Psychology, and Social Work. For these modules, "leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult."
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
ICE Learning Center (International Clinical Educators) This link opens in a new window Features videos for physical and occupational therapy. Videos are "filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnosis include musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental and behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics."
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body) This link opens in a new window Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more. NOTE: First-time users must create an account on campus before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window Features an online GIS mapping tool that allows users to create interactive maps and plot data by geographical location. Data indicators provided include demographics, education, income, housing, employment, health, crime, and much more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Provides easy access to maps and reports of U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2010; population, health and social care, and labor market data from the 2011 United Kingdom Census; U.S. crime data from the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps; European demographic data from Eurostat; population data from the 2011 Canadian census; and demographic and socioeconomic data from World Development Indicators (World Bank).
Statista This link opens in a new window Presents data as infographics and features reports on over 80,000 topics, including media, business, healthcare, politics, society, technology, and education.

Physical Education, Recreation, and Health

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription

Adolescent Health Sourcebook

Athletic Training Exam Review

Common Terminology, Abbreviations and Symbols for Therapeutic Recreation ...

Dictionary of Education

Dictionary of Health Education

Dictionary of Sports Studies

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health

Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation

Encyclopedia of School Health

Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics

Encyclopedia of Title IX and Sports

Manual of School Health

National Health Education Standards

National Standards and Guidelines for Physical Education Teacher Education

Sports Injuries Sourcebook

Integrative Preventive Medicine

ACSM's Certification Review

Handbook of Physical Education

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Recommended Statistics Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact