Research Guides: Company and Industry Information: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Electronic Resource 2009

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

International Directory of Company Histories

Electronic resource.
v.59 (2004) - v.143 (2013)

Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2018-2019

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Provides job descriptions and statistics from the U.S. Department of Labor.

Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2020-2030

Electronic Resource 2022

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) (VALE) Provides corporate data, in-depth industry analyses, summary financials, and information on company locations, top competitors, and officers. Also features worldwide market data reports and analytical articles covering economic and political topics. Includes information provided by Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots (Snapdata International Group).
Note: To locate a company profile, search for the company name and Hoover's, e.g., Microsoft Hoover's.
IBISWorld Provides industry market research and industry risk ratings on more than 700 American industries. Includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chains, and competitor activity ascertained from analysis of economic, demographic, and government data.
MarketLine Advantage Offers company profiles (including SWOT analyses), case studies, country information, and comprehensive market information on a variety of industries.
Mergent Online (FTSE Russell) (VALE) (Retiring June 2025) Provides global company and industry information; includes public company descriptions, financial data, annual reports, equity reports, industry reports, and country profiles. NOTE: Permits only five simultaneous users. Please Log Out when finished.
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) (JerseyClicks) (NJSL) -- Complimentary Contains essential information about companies in the U.S. and Canada, healthcare providers in the U.S., and residents of the U.S. and Canada. It facilitates research on U.S. businesses, provides tools for creating marketing and small business plans, aids in job searching, and much more.

Company and Industry Information

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Guide Credits

Guide Editor

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

Historical Encyclopedia of American Business

International Directory of Company Histories

Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2018-2019

Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2020-2030

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact