Skip to Main Content

Music Education (k-12)

This guide assists with training, resources, and best practices for Music educators. This encompasses all of the different ways that students can learn about and engage with "vocal, instrumental, and music theory".

Recommended Open Educational Resources for Art Educators

Books:

Educational App Development Toolkit for Teachers and Learners "The Educational App Development Toolkit for Teachers and Learners is designed to introduce the basic and some intermediate concepts of Android app development on the App Inventor (AI2) platform. It provides hands-on activities and tutorials to use the Designer and Blocks Editor components of App Inventor to create apps that can be readily downloaded and used on any Android smartphone or tablet. Furthermore, the hands-on sessions will guide you on how to use features such as text-to-speech, accelerometer, speech recognition, drawing, video, games and music playback. The Toolkit also provides guidelines on how to package and distribute your app. For teachers a training plan is also provided that can be used to provide training to students in an instructor-led environment".
Introduction to Education "This book was written to provide students with an introduction to the field of education. The book is broken into chapters that focus on questions students may have about education in general".
Music in World Cultures "This text provides just a small sampling of some of the various musical styles and traditions that might be found, though the skills developed in this course can be applied to any type of music".
Music Theory for the 21st Century Classroom "Music Theory for the 21st–Century Classroom is an openly–licensed online four–semester college music theory textbook. This text differs from other music theory textbooks by focusing less on four–part (SATB) voiceleading and more on relating harmony to the phrase. Also, in traditional music theory textbooks, there is little emphasis on motivic analysis and analysis of melodic units smaller than the phrase".

Courses:

Education: Music Overtones Overview: Musical Overtones is a four-week unit that connects music and history. Students research musical styles as it relates to the other arts and science. Students select a musician and analyze his or her work and its impact on history. A discussion of this impact is presented in an open forum during instructional time.
Movement and Music "This resource was created by Bob Lienemann, in collaboration with Dawn DeTurk, Hannah Blomstedt, and Julie Albrecht, as part of ESU2's Integrating the Arts project. This project is a four year initiative focused on integrating arts into the core curriculum through teacher education, practice, and coaching'.
Lesson Activity: Music of the Future "The "Music of the Future" is a lesson activity that combines STEAM/Maker Education, programming with Scratch, and MakeyMakey. This lesson activity aims to develop 21st-century skills, which are the basics of product design, block-based programming, electronic programming, and collaboration skills. Here, we present the overview of this lesson activity, the comprehensive lesson plan for the teachers, and instruction for the students".
Let's Build Together | Songs and Stories with Mary and Mike "Let’s learn about the different building blocks of music: beat, rhythm, harmony, and melody. Using these building blocks, we can be brave musicians and make our very own musical sound. Join us while we experiment with the elements of music and then watch as our special guest, Ms. Foster, shows us how to build shoebox houses with everyday items we find around the house".

Other:

Educause: Open Educational Resources (OER) "Explore this resource site—a collection of all EDUCAUSE resources related to open educational resources (OER) in higher education."
Mason OER Metafinder "The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button."
MERLOT Collections This links to art teacher education resources provided by MERLOT open education resources.
OER Commons This link provides special education resources from the OER Commons Collection.