Skip to Main Content
Recommended Databases for the Korean War
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present, with abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and links to book and media reviews.
AM Explorer (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of primary source documents in the social sciences and humanities from the 15th to 21st centuries. Subject coverage includes history, literature, language, culture, and politics. The collection features artistic works, diaries, manuscripts, letters, pamphlets, newspapers, videos, photographs, maps, and more.
CQ Almanac (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
"The CQ Almanac Online Edition brings together over sixty-three years of authoritative Congressional reporting in one, easy-to-use resource. The CQ Almanac offers original analysis and data on major legislation and political dates during each Congressional session back to 1945."
CQ Press Library (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
Provides simultaneous searching of all Congressional Quarterly Press online collections, featuring resources in the fields of government, politics, and public affairs. Includes access to many resources of the U.S. government.
East & South Asia Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features articles from academic journals published in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Subject areas covered include business, education, engineering, humanities, science, social sciences, and technology.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journal articles, book citations, dissertations, and conference proceedings, on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the armed forces and federal government.
Military Database (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Covers government and military topics, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications.
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School) (HeinOnline) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Features a collection of current and historical military legal documents used by the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Corps (JAG Corps), such as 19th-century works on martial law and military justice, congressional documents, and military law periodicals. The collection is frequently updated.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, books, reports, select government documents, and conference proceedings on public policy, public administration, international relations, economic conditions, politics, government, social conditions, and the Civil Rights Movement.
Points of View Reference Source (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window
Provides essays that present opposing viewpoints on a variety of current topics. This is a great tool for researching the pros and cons of controversial issues.
ProQuest: History This link opens in a new window
Conduct simultaneous searching of Kean's ProQuest history databases.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly information for sociology and related fields, such as criminal justice, gender studies, social psychology, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, socio-cultural anthropology, and social work.
Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases for the Korean War
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window
Covers the periodical literature in a variety of academic disciplines; strong in the humanities and social sciences; good place to search for a few full-text articles.
China Academic Journals (1994-2008) / Century Journals Project (1915-1993) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals published in China in the subject areas of literature, history, and philosophy.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Features a comprehensive collection of more than 660 international newspapers, newswires, and news sites, including Financial Times, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, and Wall Street Journal Asia.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
Provides archival access to scholarly journals in wide-ranging academic disciplines; JSTOR does not provide the most recent issues but instead provides access to a journal's older issues.
Project Muse (Johns Hopkins University Press) This link opens in a new window
Features scholarly articles from a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides one-stop access to a comprehensive collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers, covering subjects such as business, computer science, criminal justice, education, ethnic studies, gender studies, health care, psychology, religion, science, and telecommunications.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Offers information about articles published in popular general-interest magazines between 1890 and 1982.
Research Library (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical literature in major core academic subject areas covering subjects such as the arts, business, education, health, humanities, international studies, multicultural studies, sciences, and social sciences.
Recommended Newspapers for the Korean War
Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Features news from approximately 12,000 local, regional, national, and international sources, including the Newark Star-Ledger and over 180 New Jersey newswires, newspapers, transcripts, and blogs. Updated daily, it offers valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
"Discover North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries with this major digital resource. Featuring publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016."
Asian Newsstream (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Features over 60 national and regional news sources from Asia and the Far East. Select publications include China News, The Wall Street Journal Asia, and the Bangkok Post.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of national and international newspapers, newswires, and news magazines, including the Record (Hackensack, N.J.) and AP Regional State Report - New Jersey. The database also features television and radio transcripts from popular news sources such as ABC News, CBS News, Fox News, and National Public Radio (NPR).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Digital image archive of the New York Times beginning in September 1851 and ending several years before the current year.
