Research Guides: World War I: Find Articles

Recommended Database for World War I

First World War Portal (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
“Revealing the voices and experiences of the men and women who served in the First World War, this rich and varied collection will be an invaluable source for anyone studying and researching the ‘Great War’. Material includes letters and diaries of service people, maps, photo albums, artwork, oral histories, official documents, newspapers, posters and much more, covering all aspects of the global conflict.”

Other Recommended Databases for World War I

America: History and Life (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present, with abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and links to book and media reviews.
AM Explorer (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window Provides access to millions of primary source documents in the social sciences and humanities from the 15th to 21st centuries. Subject coverage includes history, literature, language, culture, and politics. The collection features artistic works, diaries, manuscripts, letters, pamphlets, newspapers, videos, photographs, maps, and more.
China: Culture and Society (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window “Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this digital collection makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, at Cornell University Library; one of the oldest and most distinctive collections of its kind, and a very rich source for research on China.”
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window “Confidential Print: Africa provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This important new resource will provide researchers with a searchable collection of scores of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa."
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers abstracts of journal articles, book citations, dissertations, and conference proceedings, on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the armed forces and federal government.
Military Database (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Covers government and military topics, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications.
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School) (HeinOnline) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window Features a collection of current and historical military legal documents used by the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Corps (JAG Corps), such as 19th-century works on martial law and military justice, congressional documents, and military law periodicals. The collection is frequently updated.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Contains articles, books, reports, select government documents, and conference proceedings on public policy, public administration, international relations, economic conditions, politics, government, social conditions, and the Civil Rights Movement.
ProQuest: History This link opens in a new window Conduct simultaneous searching of Kean's ProQuest history databases.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides scholarly information for sociology and related fields, such as criminal justice, gender studies, social psychology, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, socio-cultural anthropology, and social work.

Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases for World War I

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Covers the periodical literature in a variety of academic disciplines; strong in the humanities and social sciences; good place to search for a few full-text articles.
American Historical Periodicals, Series 1-5 (Gale Cengage Learning) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive collection of periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, documenting the American people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War, Reconstruction, and the twentieth century.
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922 (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window “This resource explores the diplomatic history of Central Asia and provides digital access to official British government records relating to the region, from the decline of the Silk Road, through the diplomatic confrontation between the British and Russian Empires known as the “Great Game”, to the influence of the emergent Soviet Union in the twentieth century.”
China Academic Journals (1994-2008) / Century Journals Project (1915-1993) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to journals published in China in the subject areas of literature, history, and philosophy.
Continental Europe Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Features articles from academic journals published in many European countries. Subject areas covered include business, education, engineering, humanities, science, social sciences, and technology.
East Europe, Central Europe Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Features articles from academic journals published in many East European and Central European countries. Subject areas covered include business, education, engineering, humanities, science, social sciences, and technology.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window Provides archival access to scholarly journals in wide-ranging academic disciplines; JSTOR does not provide the most recent issues but instead provides access to a journal's older issues.
Project Muse (Johns Hopkins University Press) This link opens in a new window Features scholarly articles from a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides one-stop access to a comprehensive collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers, covering subjects such as business, computer science, criminal justice, education, ethnic studies, gender studies, health care, psychology, religion, science, and telecommunications.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Offers information about articles published in popular general-interest magazines between 1890 and 1982.
Research Library (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides periodical literature in major core academic subject areas covering subjects such as the arts, business, education, health, humanities, international studies, multicultural studies, sciences, and social sciences.

Recommended Newspapers for World War I

Indigenous Newspapers in North America (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window "Discover North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries with this major digital resource. Featuring publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016."
Imperial Russian Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window "This collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (VALE) This link opens in a new window Digital image archive of the New York Times beginning in September 1851 and ending several years before the current year.

World War I

Recommended Database for World War I

Other Recommended Databases for World War I

Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases for World War I

Recommended Newspapers for World War I

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact