Skip to Main Content
Recommended Databases for the American Revolution
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present, with abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and links to book and media reviews.
AM Explorer (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of primary source documents in the social sciences and humanities from the 15th to 21st centuries. Subject coverage includes history, literature, language, culture, and politics. The collection features artistic works, diaries, manuscripts, letters, pamphlets, newspapers, videos, photographs, maps, and more.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journal articles, book citations, dissertations, and conference proceedings, on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the armed forces and federal government.
Military Database (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Covers government and military topics, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications.
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School) (HeinOnline) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Features a collection of current and historical military legal documents used by the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Corps (JAG Corps), such as 19th-century works on martial law and military justice, congressional documents, and military law periodicals. The collection is frequently updated.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, books, reports, select government documents, and conference proceedings on public policy, public administration, international relations, economic conditions, politics, government, social conditions, and the Civil Rights Movement.
Points of View Reference Source (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window
Provides essays that present opposing viewpoints on a variety of current topics. This is a great tool for researching the pros and cons of controversial issues.
ProQuest: History This link opens in a new window
Conduct simultaneous searching of Kean's ProQuest history databases.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Features "a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world...[including] every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery." The collection also provides access to full-text books as well as articles from periodicals, proceedings, reports, and other publications.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly information for sociology and related fields, such as criminal justice, gender studies, social psychology, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, socio-cultural anthropology, and social work.
Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases for the American Revolution
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window
Covers the periodical literature in a variety of academic disciplines; strong in the humanities and social sciences; good place to search for a few full-text articles.
American Historical Periodicals, Series 1-5 (Gale Cengage Learning) -- Complimentary This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive collection of periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, documenting the American people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War, Reconstruction, and the twentieth century.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
Provides archival access to scholarly journals in wide-ranging academic disciplines; JSTOR does not provide the most recent issues but instead provides access to a journal's older issues.
Project Muse (Johns Hopkins University Press) This link opens in a new window
Features scholarly articles from a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides one-stop access to a comprehensive collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers, covering subjects such as business, computer science, criminal justice, education, ethnic studies, gender studies, health care, psychology, religion, science, and telecommunications.
Research Library (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical literature in major core academic subject areas covering subjects such as the arts, business, education, health, humanities, international studies, multicultural studies, sciences, and social sciences.
Recommended Newspapers for the American Revolution
