Skip to Main Content
Recommended Databases for the Great Depression
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present, with abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and links to book and media reviews.
AM Explorer (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of primary source documents in the social sciences and humanities from the 15th to 21st centuries. Subject coverage includes history, literature, language, culture, and politics. The collection features artistic works, diaries, manuscripts, letters, pamphlets, newspapers, videos, photographs, maps, and more.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journal articles, book citations, dissertations, and conference proceedings, on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
ProQuest: History This link opens in a new window
Conduct simultaneous searching of Kean's ProQuest history databases.
Research Library (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical literature in major core academic subject areas covering subjects such as the arts, business, education, health, humanities, international studies, multicultural studies, sciences, and social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly information for sociology and related fields, such as criminal justice, gender studies, social psychology, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, socio-cultural anthropology, and social work.
Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases for the Great Depression
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window
Covers the periodical literature in a variety of academic disciplines; strong in the humanities and social sciences; good place to search for a few full-text articles.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
"Discover North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries with this major digital resource. Featuring publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016."
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
Provides archival access to scholarly journals in wide-ranging academic disciplines; JSTOR does not provide the most recent issues but instead provides access to a journal's older issues.
Project Muse (Johns Hopkins University Press) This link opens in a new window
Features scholarly articles from a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides one-stop access to a comprehensive collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers, covering subjects such as business, computer science, criminal justice, education, ethnic studies, gender studies, health care, psychology, religion, science, and telecommunications.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Digital image archive of the New York Times beginning in September 1851 and ending several years before the current year.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Offers information about articles published in popular general-interest magazines between 1890 and 1982.
Research Library (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical literature in major core academic subject areas covering subjects such as the arts, business, education, health, humanities, international studies, multicultural studies, sciences, and social sciences.
