Select list of multidisciplinary journals organized alphabetically with SoTL content Working from off campus?If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.
Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education
"Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education is an established international peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education. Its purpose is to advance understanding of assessment and evaluation practices and processes, particularly the contribution that these make to student learning and to course, staff and institutional development."
Australian Journal of Teacher Education (AJTE)
"The purpose of the Australian Journal of Teacher Education is to enhance the quality of teacher education through the publication of research reports, learned points of view and commentaries."
College Teaching
"College Teaching provides an interdisciplinary academic forum on issues in teaching and learning at the undergraduate or graduate level."
Currents in Teaching & Learning
"Currents in Teaching and Learning is a peer-reviewed, open-access electronic journal that fosters exchanges among teacher-scholars across the disciplines. Published twice a year (typically one issue in fall, one in spring), Currents seeks to improve teaching and learning in higher education with short reports on classroom practices as well as longer research and theoretical articles related to pedagogy."
Harvard Educational Review (HER)
"The Harvard Educational Review (HER) is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. The Editorial Board aims to publish pieces from interdisciplinary and wide-ranging fields that advance our understanding of educational theory, equity, and practice."
Higher Education Research & Development
"Higher Education Research & Development informs and challenges researchers, teachers, administrators, policy-makers and others concerned with the past, present and future of higher education. The journal publishes scholarly articles that make a significant and original contribution to the field of higher education."
Innovative Higher Education
"Innovative Higher Education is a refereed scholarly journal that strives to package fresh ideas in higher education in a straightforward and readable fashion."
InSight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching
"InSight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching is a scholarly publication designed to highlight the work of postsecondary faculty and graduate students at colleges and universities worldwide."
Interdisciplinary Journal Of Problem-Based Learning (IJPBL)
"The Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning (IJPBL) publishes relevant, interesting, and challenging peer-reviewed articles of research, analysis, or promising practice related to all aspects of implementing problem-, project-, inquiry-, or case-based learning in K–12 and post-secondary classrooms or workplaces."
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL)
"Anchored in inquiry and engagement, the scholarship of teaching and learning re-conceptualizes teaching as an ongoing and scholarly process with an emphasis on bringing about improved student learning (Huber & Morreale, 2002). SoTL is a key way to support the continuous transformation of academic communities and cultures."
International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (IJTLHE)
"The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (ISSN 1812-9129) provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise."
Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education
"The Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education (formerly the Journal of Computing in Teacher Education) provides computer and technology education to preservice and inservice teachers. Produced by experts in the field and peer reviewed, the journal offers a forum to share information about using technology in teacher education among departments, schools and colleges of education. It is published quarterly."
Journal of Effective Teaching in Higher Education (JETHE)
"The Journal of Effective Teaching in Higher Education (JETHE) is an open access electronic peer-reviewed journal that advances the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) focused on institutions of higher education. Theoretical explorations, evidence-based studies, and praxis submissions are welcome."
Journal of Faculty Development
"The Journal of Faculty Development publishes research and scholarship on innovation in faculty development that is relevant for administrators, faculty members, and faculty development professionals."
Journal of Teaching and Learning
"The JTL is an international, peer-reviewed journal. The journal seeks manuscripts that provide a critical examination of education, and publishes original research that contributes to questions in teaching and learning. These may include: issues related to indigenous education, gender, class, race, ability, ethnicity and diversity, educational policy, teacher education, educational leadership, and theories of teaching and learning."
Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL)
"Founded in 2001, the Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL) is published by Indiana University's Faculty Academy on Excellence in Teaching (FACET). JoSoTL aims to address contemporary issues bridging teaching and learning in higher education, philosophical approaches to teaching, current research, and praxis. The journal publishes empirical research, case studies, essays, critiques, and articles of a theoretical/conceptual nature that contribute to deeper understanding of the issues, problems, and research relevant to the community of reflective teacher-scholars."
Journal of University Teaching & Learning Practice (JUTLP)
"The Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice (JUTLP) is a peer-reviewed journal publishing papers that add significantly to the body of knowledge describing effective and innovative teaching and learning practice in the higher education environment. The Journal aims to provide a forum for educational practitioners in a wide range of disciplines to communicate their teaching and learning outcomes in a scholarly way. Its purpose is to bridge the gap between journals covering purely academic research and more pragmatic articles and opinions published elsewhere."
Journal on Centers for Teaching & Learning (JCTL)
"The Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning represents an opportunity for Centers for Teaching and Learning (CTL) staff to engage in conversations, explore their relevance to their own institutional situations, and imagine new possibilities to take back to these institutions — not to mention new ways of looking at the conversations already at work there. While multiple publications deal with pedagogical issues in specific fields and with issues addressed by CTLs more broadly, JCTL is designed to focus on the operations, achievements, and potentials of CTLs themselves."
Journal on Empowering Teaching Excellence
"This academic, peer-reviewed journal targets higher education professionals who engage in the design and practice of instruction. This includes tenure and non-tenure track faculty who teach, instructional designers, librarians, graduate teaching assistants, graduate instructors and other instructional professionals."
National Teaching & Learning Forum
"Covers topics in college teaching & learning issues, including learning theory, class management, pedagogical innovation, technology, etc."
New Directions for Teaching & Learning
"A series of thematic journals presenting ideas and techniques for improving college teaching, based both on the practical expertise of seasoned instructors and on the latest research findings of educational and psychological researchers."
Studies in Higher Education
"Studies in Higher Education is a leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective."
Teaching & Learning Inquiry: The ISSOTL Journal
"Teaching and Learning Inquiry publishes scholarly works on the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) in higher education. This includes original research, theory, or commentary and may include empirical and interpretive investigations, theoretical analyses, thought-provoking essays, works about the state of the field, or innovative genres."
Teaching in Higher Education
"Teaching in Higher Education has become an internationally recognised field, which is more than ever open to multiple forms of contestation. However, the intellectual challenge which teaching presents has been inadequately acknowledged and theorised in higher education."
Transformative Dialogues: Teaching & Learning Journal
"Transformative Dialogues (TD) is a forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning."
