Research Guides: American Drama: Start Your Research Here

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Encyclopedias for American Drama

African American Theatre: A Historical and Critical Analysis

Electronic Resource

American Repertory Theatre Reference Book

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1930-1969

Electronic Resource

American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1969–2000

Electronic Resource

Asian American Literature

Electronic Resource

The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Catalog of the American Musical

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Censorship of the American Theatre in the Twentieth Century

Electronic Resource

Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Companion to Twentieth-Century American Drama

Electronic Resource

Congressional Theatre: Dramatizing McCarthyism on Stage, Film, and Television

Electronic Resource

Contemporary African American Female Playwrights: An Annotated Bibliography

Electronic Resource

Contemporary American Drama

Electronic Resource

Contemporary American Playwrights

Electronic Resource

Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Contemporary Jewish-American Dramatists and Poets

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Multiple Volumes

Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Costume

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Directory of the American Theater, 1894-1971

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Drama, Theatre, and Identity in the American New Republic

Electronic Resource

Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Expressionism and Modernism in the American Theatre: Bodies, Voices, Words

Electronic Resource

Hispanic Literature of the United States

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Historical Dictionary of American Theater

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Masterpieces of 20th-Century American Drama

Electronic Resource

Modern American Drama, 1945-2000

Electronic Resource

Notable Latino Writers

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-3

Notable Names in American Theatre

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

The Oxford Companion to American Theatre

Electronic Resource

Oxford Companion to American Theatre

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance

Electronic Resource

Plays, Players, and Playwrights: An Illustrated History of the Theatre

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Theatre in America During the Revolution

Electronic Resource

Theatre, Society and the Nation: Staging American Identities

Electronic Resource

Recommended Encyclopedias for Costumes

Clothing through American History: The Civil War through the Gilded Age, 1861-1899

Electronic Resource

Clothing through American History: The Federal Era through Antebellum, 1786-1860

Electronic Resource

Complete Costume Dictionary

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Costume

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Fashion, Costume, and Culture

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-5

Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Contemporary Authors (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive biographical and bibliographic information on a variety of modern authors and writers.
Gale Databases (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window Features simultaneous searching of all Gale databases.
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Covers book reviews, author biographies, contemporary poems, short stories, and essays on literary criticism.
Literature Resource Center (Gale Cengage Learning) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Features literary criticism, reviews, and extensive biographical information on classic and contemporary authors. Also provides access to audio files and podcasts from National Public Radio (NPR) programs. Click the Multimedia tab on a search results list to access any audio files and podcasts retrieved with a Basic or Advanced Search for keywords, a person, or name of work.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

BroadwayHD Collection (Alexander Street Press) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Features 19 full-length Broadway plays from award-winning writers, directors, and actors from the New York theatre scene.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 600+ theatre productions, 800+ video resources, and teaching and learning guides for Theatre, English Language Arts, and Performing Arts. The database features contemporary theatre productions, musicals, poetry, operas, interviews, lectures, lesson plans, and behind-the-scenes documentaries.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
Theatre in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
A collection of some of the world's best-loved plays, performances, documentaries, and even rehearsals, all provided in full streaming video. Includes many world renown actors and directors.

Do you need a research topic?

Performing & Fine Arts -- Find A Topic (America's News, NewsBank) "Find information related to political campaigns, governmental issues, political issues, U.S Presidential Election 2016 and world leaders."

Issues & Controversies (Infobase Learning) This link opens in a new window Good starting point for gathering background information (including pro and con perspectives) on current hot topics; helpful source of research topic ideas.
Points of View Reference Source (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Provides essays that present opposing viewpoints on a variety of current topics. This is a great tool for researching the pros and cons of controversial issues.

American Drama

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Recommended Encyclopedias for American Drama

American Repertory Theatre Reference Book

The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre

Catalog of the American Musical

Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide

Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays

Contemporary Jewish-American Dramatists and Poets

Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television

Dictionary of Costume

Directory of the American Theater, 1894-1971

Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers

Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre

Historical Dictionary of American Theater

Notable Names in American Theatre

Oxford Companion to American Theatre

Plays, Players, and Playwrights: An Illustrated History of the Theatre

Recommended Encyclopedias for Costumes

Dictionary of Costume

Fashion, Costume, and Culture

Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Do you need a research topic?

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact