Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Worlds of History (HIST 1062): Human Rights -- From Slavery to Freedom

This guide serves as a gateway to library research for students enrolled in the Worlds of History course, focusing on the history of human rights as they relate to slavery.

Kean University History Department

Visit the History Departments's web page for excellent "Research Paper" resources:

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Cambridge World History of Slavery. Volume 1: The Ancient Mediterranean World

Volumes 1-3. See Volume 1: The Ancient Mediterranean World
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Concise Encyclopedia of Hinduism

Main Collection

Countries and Their Cultures

Main Collection

Dictionary of World History

Electronic Resource

Encyclopaedia Judaica

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Human Rights

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Religion in America

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of the Underground Railroad

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery

Main Collection

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions

Main Collection

Quakers and Their Allies in the Abolitionist Cause, 1754-1808

Main Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Reading

Cambridge World History of Slavery. Volume 1: The Ancient Mediterranean World

Volumes 1-3. See Volume 1: The Ancient Mediterranean World
Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Quakers and Their Allies in the Abolitionist Cause, 1754-1808

Main Collection (Second Floor)

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.