Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology and Anthropology

This guide contains library resources on Sociology and Anthropology as well as links to internal and external sources on the topic.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.

Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.  

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information for Sociology and Anthropology topics.

Recommended Subject-Focused Reference Resources

Biographical Dictionary of Anthropologists

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations: A Country-by-Country Guide

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons ( Library)

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World’s Cultures

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection

Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide

Handbook of World Families

Electronic Resource

History of Physical Anthropology

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Section Collection (Second Floor)

National Geographic Almanac of Geography

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Recommended Online Refernce Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.