Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics

Provides resources relevant for mathematics.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics

Electronic Resource
Provides full-text articles, all accessible online through this e-book.

Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Guide to Information Sources in Mathematics and Statistics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Mathematical Century: The 30 Greatest Problems of the Last 100 Years

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Universal Book of Mathematics: From Abracadabra to Zeno’s Paradoxes

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases