Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Labor Unions and Workers' Rights: Start Your Research Here

This guide was designed to focus on labor unions and employment relations research. Each section offers a variety of information that correlates with employee rights and the dynamics of unionism.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Statistics Databases

The following databases provide access to statistics and other kinds of data.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to Accounting. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Kean University Library. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Subject Guide

Craig Anderson's picture
Craig Anderson
Contact:
Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons. Rm: The glass cubicle on the first floor all the way to the right.
908-737-4602
Oatmeal Preferences: Brown Sugar & Mixed Fruit
Elder Scrolls Online: Lachrymaius
Skype Contact: librarianinreallife

Guide Credits

Jonathan Torres is the original author of this guide, which he updated through Spring 2015.

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.