Skip to Main Content

History

This Research Guide focuses mainly on library resources in the field of History in general. For more specific History topics, go to the Resource Guides Home page, and click on "History".

My Profile

Profile Photo
Craig Anderson
He/Him/His
Contact:
Nancy Thompson Library Learning Commons. Rm: L-101B.
Oatmeal Preferences: Brown Sugar & Mixed Fruit
908-737-4602
Skype Contact: librarianinreallife

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

An Atlas of African History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (library) Reference Collection Section  - 2nd Floor

Atlas of Asian-American History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Atlas of World History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section  -  2nd Floor

Cambridge History of Latin America

Cambridge Medieval History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Chronicle of America

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of American Urban History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (library)  Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of World History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Late Ch'ing, 1800-1911

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Magill's Guide to Military History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons(Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Penguin Encyclopedia of American History

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons(Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.