Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fine Arts

This guide contains library resources on the Fine Arts, as well as links to internal and external sources on these subjects.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Art and Architecture in Italy, 1600-1750

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Art in China

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

A Century of African American Art

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

The Dictionary of Art

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons(Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource Electronic Link
Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource Electronic Link

Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section -  2nd Floor

Recommended Image Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.