Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film & Media

This guide contains library resources on Film, Cinema, and other forms of mass media entertainment, as well as links to internal and external sources on these subjects

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

21st Century Communication

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Chinese Film

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library)  Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 3rd Floor

Encyclopedia of New Media

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Politics, Media, and Popular Culture

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Television

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 3rd Floor

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 3rd Floor

The Handbook of New Media

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

The Persuasion Handbook

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - Request Book Title Through Interlibrary Loan 

The SAGE Handbook of Advertising

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

The SAGE Handbook of Media Studies

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to Media and Film. Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the Second Floor of Kean University's Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library).

Working from off-campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Library Barcode number. Find out how to get a Barcode