Research Guides: Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences : Start Your Research Here

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

An Advanced Review of Speech-Language Pathology

Access Services Desk (First Floor)
RC 423 .R66 2019

Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology

Electronic Resource

Blackwell Handbook of Language Development

Electronic Resource

Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology

Electronic Resource

Clinical Research Methods in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Electronic Resource

Comprehensive Guide to Autism

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
RC 553 .A88 C66 2014
Volumes 1-5

Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology

Electronic Resource

Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Electronic Resource

A Coursebook on Scientific and Professional Writing for Speech-Language Pathology

Electronic Resource

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)

Electronic Resource

Dictionary of Hearing

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
RF 290 .M35 2014

Hearing Disorders Handbook

Electronic Resource

Learning Disabilities Sourcebook, 6th Edition

Electronic Resource
Sixth Edition

Medical Speech-Language Pathology

Electronic Resource

Preparation for the Praxis in Speech-Language Pathology

Electronic Resource

Psychology of Classroom Learning

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Speech-Language Pathologist's Handbook for Inclusive School Practices

Electronic Resource

Treatment Resource Manual

Electronic Resource

Tests and Measures Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

The following databases provide information to identify tests and measurement instruments.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost) (VALE) Offers reviews of standardized tests in education, business, psychology, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
PsycTests (EBSCOhost) (VALE) “Serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.”

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association) "This is the fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V."
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
Symptom Media Film Library (Symptom Media) Features an online mental health education and training film library with hundreds of mental health simulations. These films provide visual guideposts to enhance understanding of mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma associated with psychological issues. The collection includes DSM-5-TR and ICD 10 Guided Case Studies and Assessment Tools. Each video ranges from 30 seconds to 15 minutes and includes a full-text transcript.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body) Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more. NOTE: First-time users must create an account before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Related Research Guides

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

An Advanced Review of Speech-Language Pathology

Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology

Blackwell Handbook of Language Development

Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology

Clinical Research Methods in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Comprehensive Guide to Autism

Comprehensive Handbook of Pediatric Audiology

Counseling in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

A Coursebook on Scientific and Professional Writing for Speech-Language Pathology

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)

Dictionary of Hearing

Hearing Disorders Handbook

Learning Disabilities Sourcebook, 6th Edition

Medical Speech-Language Pathology

Preparation for the Praxis in Speech-Language Pathology

Psychology of Classroom Learning

Speech-Language Pathologist's Handbook for Inclusive School Practices

Treatment Resource Manual

Tests and Measures Databases

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact