Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication

This guide contains library resources on the subject of Communication, as well as links to internal and external sources on these subjects

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

A Dictionary of Media and Communication

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons(Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource  E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource
E-Book Link Online Access See chapter, "Books -- Future Role of"

Encyclopedia of New Media

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Political Communication

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Public Relations

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Handbook on Communicating and Disseminating Behavioral Science

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

International Encyclopedia of Communications

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

The SAGE Handbook of Conflict Communication

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Communication

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

The Persuasion Handbook

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

The SAGE Handbook of Media Studies

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access 

The SAGE Handbook of Nonverbal Communication

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

The SAGE Handbook of Performance Studies

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Electronic Resource E-Book Link Online Access

Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection Section - 2nd Floor

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.