Research Guides: Physician Assistant Studies: Start Your Research Here

Recommended Physician Assistant Studies Reference Books

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health

Electronic Resource

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

SAGE Handbook of Health Psychology

Electronic Resource

Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing

Electronic Resource

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook with NIC Interventions and NOC Outcomes

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Also called Prentice Hall Nursing Diagnosis Handbook with NIC Interventions and NOC Outcomes.

Merck Manual of Medical Information

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Merck Manual of Health & Aging

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Manual of School Health: A Handbook for School Nurses, Educators, and Health Professionals

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

International Encyclopedia of Public Health

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Social Studies in Health and Medicine

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Physiological Research Methods in Health Psychology

Electronic Resource

Handbook of Evidence-Based Critical Care

Electronic Resource

Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery: A Guide for Patients and Caregivers

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Clinical Research Methodology and Evidence-Based Medicine: The Basics

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence

Electronic Resource

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Electronic Resource

Fast Facts for Nurses

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Evidence-Based Practice Manual: Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Public Health

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Health Services Research

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Health Care Management

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Elder Care

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)

Recommended Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) (VALE) Features scholarly information for over 50 nursing specialties and allied health research and provides access to more than 2,000+ full-text journals. The database also includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, and research Instruments.
Cochrane Databases Please use EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews.
EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews (Ovid) Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, NHS Economic Evaluation Database. NOTE: Permits only two simultaneous users. Please Log Out when finished.
EBSCOhost Nursing, Health and Medical Resources Select from Kean's EBSCOhost nursing, health, and medical databases for simultaneous searching.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (OvidSP) Provides "information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI...[helps] identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." NOTE: Permits only 10 simultaneous users. Please Logoff when finished.
JBI EBP Database (formerly Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice) (Ovid) Includes: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets (BPIS), Systematic Reviews, and Consumer Information Sheets (CIS).
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) (VALE) Contains references to authoritative literature on nursing, medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) (VALE) Provides coverage of nursing, allied health, and alternative medicine periodicals as well as training videos and transcultural information. Also features systematic reviews, evidence summaries, and best practice information from The Joanna Briggs Institute.

A Practical Guide: Data Extraction for Intervention Systematic Reviews "Shaped by insights from hundreds of researchers, this guide aims to distill the collective wisdom and best practices of the global systematic review community. It offers definitions, practical advice, links to the Cochrane Handbook, downloadable templates, and real-world examples from studies."
A Practical Guide: Protocol Development for Systematic Reviews "Welcome to this practical guide to protocol development for systematic reviews. Whether you’re an experienced researcher or just starting out, this guide can help you develop your review protocol which will help you plan and manage your systematic review."
A Practical Guide to Screening for Systematic Reviews "Screening is an important step in any type or size of literature review. The process of screening ensures that the studies in the review are relevant to the review question. It also ensures that the review is based on the highest-quality evidence and adheres to pre-specified criteria. Screening can be extremely resource intensive."

Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

DSM-V Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition; American Psychiatric Association) "This is the fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V."
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning) A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press) Provides access to a collection of online videos that enable students to observe the practice of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Films on Demand (Infobase Learning) Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.
ICE Learning Center (International Clinical Educators) Features videos for physical and occupational therapy. Videos are "filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnosis include musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental and behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics." NOTE: To access the database, please use your Kean University email address and create a password. For more information, click the following link: Access Instructions.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video resource featuring high-quality demonstrations and detailed protocols that support biological, medical, chemical, and physical research. The journal includes the following sections: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. NOTE: Remote access requires creating an account using your Kean Google email credentials while you are on campus.
Visible Body Suite (Visible Body)
Features a comprehensive and user-friendly 3D reference and study tool for human anatomy. It enables users to explore general anatomy, functional units, cross sections, muscle attachments, bony landmarks, muscle actions, and more.
NOTE: First-time users must create an account before using the site. After setting up the account, you can access the Visible Body Suite from any computer on or off campus. Please refer to the Visible Body Suite guide for more information.

Physician Assistant Studies

Recommended Physician Assistant Studies Reference Books

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook with NIC Interventions and NOC Outcomes

Merck Manual of Medical Information

Merck Manual of Health & Aging

Manual of School Health: A Handbook for School Nurses, Educators, and Health Professionals

Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery: A Guide for Patients and Caregivers

Clinical Research Methodology and Evidence-Based Medicine: The Basics

Fast Facts for Nurses

Evidence-Based Practice Manual: Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services

Encyclopedia of Public Health

Encyclopedia of Elder Care

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health

Recommended Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Reference Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact