Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant Studies

This guide features resources for the Physician Assistant Studies program

OER

Click on the link below for Open Educational Resources on Physician Assistant Studies

Mason OER Metafinder

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Physician Assistant Studies Reference Books

Clinical Research Methodology and Evidence-Based Medicine: The Basics

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Elder Care

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Elder Care

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Epidemiology

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Public Health

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Evidence-Based Practice Manual: Research and Outcome Measures in Health and Human Services

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Fast Facts for Nurses

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery: A Guide for Patients and Caregivers

Reference Collection (First Floor)

Health Psychology Handbook

Electronic Resource

Manual of School Health: A Handbook for School Nurses, Educators, and Health Professionals

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Merck Manual of Health & Aging

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Merck Manual of Medical Information

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook with NIC Interventions and NOC Outcomes

Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Also called Prentice Hall Nursing Diagnosis Handbook with NIC Interventions and NOC Outcomes.

SAGE Handbook of Healthcare

Electronic Resource

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Databases for Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Listed below are links to the Kean University Library databases that provide access to evidence-based health care information.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Statistics & Data Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Country Information Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Tests and Measures Databases

The following databases provide information that will help you identify psychological tests and measuring instruments.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.