Need to select a research topic or find background information?
The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information.
The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.
Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.
This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information for Sociology and Anthropology topics.
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-3
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons ( Library)
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection
Electronic Resource
Electronic Resource
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Section Collection (Second Floor)
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection
Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-5
Nancy Thompson Learning Commons Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.
