Research Guides: History: Start Your Research Here

Kean University History Department

Visit the History Departments's web page for excellent "Research Paper" resources:

Kean University History Department The department webpage provides two sections offering tips for writing papers and citing sources: * Click "Student Resources," then scroll down and click "Research and Writing." * Click "History 1062," click "Student Resources" (on the left-hand side of page), then click "Writing Student Papers."

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Immigration, Emigration, and Migration : NOMOS LVII

Electronic Resource 2017

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

Electronic Resource 2017

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices

Electronic Resource 2014

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Electronic Resource, Volumes 1-5 (2017)

Quakers and Their Allies in the Abolitionist Cause, 1754-1808

Electronic Resource 2015

Political Handbook of the World

Electronic Resource 2019

Making the new Middle East : politics, culture, and human rights

Electronic Resource 2019

Being Hindu : understanding a peaceful path in a violent world

Electronic Resource 2018

A History of Hinduism : The Past, Present, and Future

Electronic Resource 2018

Guide to Countries of the World

Electronic Resource 2016

Food, Texts, and Cultures in Latin America and Spain

Electronic Resource 2020

Europa World Year Book

Reference Collection (Second Floor) 2016

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Electronic Resource 2016

Dictionary of Contemporary World History

Electronic Resource 2019

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The following databases provide access to online encyclopedias covering multidisciplinary topics. Remember, these subject encyclopedias are great sources of background information on countless topics.

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

CQ Press Library (Congressional Quarterly)
Provides simultaneous searching of all Congressional Quarterly Press online collections, featuring resources in the fields of government, politics, and public affairs. Includes access to many resources of the U.S. government.
Facts on File Online Databases (now Infobase Learning)
Offers a menu of all of the Facts on File (now Infobase Learning) reference and news databases, with options for searching simultaneously in several databases.
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning)
A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
SAGE Knowledge
Provides reference resources such as subject-focused dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials published by SAGE.
World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)
Features the current constitution of every country in the world, with text provided in its original language(s) and in English translation. Also provides "more than 800 classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history."

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Films on Demand (Infobase Learning)
Films on Demand provides access to "video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content." Click "Collections" to access videos in various subject areas, such as Art & Architecture, Allied Health, Biology, Business & Economics, Criminal Justice & Law, Drama & Theatre, Education, English, Gender & Sexuality, Guidance & Counseling, Health & Medicine, History, Psychology, and more. The platform also offers Archival Films & Newsreels.

History

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Guide Editor

Kean University History Department

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Immigration, Emigration, and Migration : NOMOS LVII

Religion in America Today

Religion in America

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Quakers and Their Allies in the Abolitionist Cause, 1754-1808

Political Handbook of the World

Making the new Middle East : politics, culture, and human rights

In Lady Liberty's Shadow

Being Hindu : understanding a peaceful path in a violent world

A History of Hinduism : The Past, Present, and Future

Guide to Countries of the World

Food, Texts, and Cultures in Latin America and Spain

Europa World Year Book

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Dictionary of World History

Dictionary of Contemporary World History

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact