Research Guides: Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences : Find OER

Select Open Educational Books for Speech Language Pathology and Hearing Sciences

Advances in Rehabilitation of Hearing Loss

Directory of Open Access Books
2020

Advances in Speech-language Pathology

Directory of Open Access Books
2017

Auditory System

Directory of Open Access Books
2022

Aphasia Compendium

Directory of Open Access Books
2022

Cognition, Language and Aging

John Benjamins Publishing Company
2016

The Education of d/Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children: Perspectives on Language and Literacy Development

Directory of Open Access Books
2020

Genetics of Hearing Impairment

Directory of Open Access Books
2022

Hearing Disorders: Diagnosis, Management, and Future Opportunities

Directory of Open Access Books
2022

Hearing Loss

Directory of Open Access Books
2021

Molecular Mechanisms of Sensorineural Hearing Loss and Development of Inner Ear Therapeutics

Directory of Open Access Books
2021

Sound and Music Computing

Open Research Library
2018

Updates on Hearing Loss and its Rehabilitation

Directory of Open Access Books
2023

Select Open Educational Resources for Speech Language Pathology and Hearing Sciences

Courses:

Acoustics of Speech and Hearing "The Acoustics of Speech and Hearing is an H-Level graduate course that reviews the physical processes involved in the production, propagation and reception of human speech. Particular attention is paid to how the acoustics and mechanics of the speech and auditory system define what sounds we are capable of producing and what sounds we can sense."
American Sign Language I (ASL 121) "ASL I is an introduction to the naturally existing language widely used by Deaf people in North America."
American Sign Language II (ASL 122) "ASL II is a sequential course following ASL I, which continues to build knowledge of the naturally existing language widely used by Deaf people in North America."
Automatic Speech Recognition "6.345 introduces students to the rapidly developing field of automatic speech recognition. Its content is divided into three parts. Part I deals with background material in the acoustic theory of speech production, acoustic-phonetics, and signal representation. Part II describes algorithmic aspects of speech recognition systems including pattern classification, search algorithms, stochastic modelling, and language modelling techniques. Part III compares and contrasts the various approaches to speech recognition, and describes advanced techniques used for acoustic-phonetic modelling, robust speech recognition, speaker adaptation, processing paralinguistic information, speech understanding, and multimodal processing."
BMC (Biomed Central): Part of Springer Nature "At BMC we are dedicated to publishing the best open access journals across our portfolio of over 250 titles and are always striving to drive progress in biology, health sciences and medicine."
Brain Mechanisms for Hearing and Speech "An advanced course covering anatomical, physiological, behavioral, and computational studies of the central nervous system relevant to speech and hearing. Students learn primarily by discussions of scientific papers on topics of current interest."
Language Disorders in Children "This seminar focuses on reading and discussion of current linguistic theory, first language acquisition and language disorders in young children. It also focuses on development of a principled understanding of language disorders at the phonological, morphological and syntactic levels, examining ways in which these disorders confront theories of language and acquisition."
Modeling Issues in Speech and Hearing "This course explores the theory and practice of scientific modeling in the context of auditory and speech biophysics. Based on seminar-style discussions of the research literature, the class draws on examples from hearing and speech, and explores general, meta-theoretical issues that transcend the particular subject matter."
Speech Communication "6.541J surveys the structural properties of natural languages, with special emphasis on the sound pattern. Topics covered include: representation of the lexicon; physiology of speech production; articulatory phonetics; acoustical theory of speech production; acoustical and articulatory descriptions of phonetic features and of prosodic aspects of speech; perception of speech; models of lexical access and of speech production and planning; and applications to recognition and generation of speech by machine, and to the study of speech disorders."

Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences

OER @ Kean