The following academic texts offer comprehensive insights into various subjects pertinent to Multinational Financial Management. Readers can access detailed information regarding each topic by clicking on the hyperlinked titles in each section.
Discrete Models of Financial Markets
by
This book explains in simple settings the fundamental ideas of financial market modelling and derivative pricing, using the no-arbitrage principle. Relatively elementary mathematics leads to powerful notions and techniques - such as viability, completeness, self-financing and replicating strategies, arbitrage and equivalent martingale measures - which are directly applicable in practice. The general methods are applied in detail to pricing and hedging European and American options within the Cox-Ross-Rubinstein (CRR) binomial tree model. A simple approach to discrete interest rate models is included, which, though elementary, has some novel features. All proofs are written in a user-friendly manner, with each step carefully explained and following a natural flow of thought. In this way the student learns how to tackle new problems.
Interest Rate Swaps and Other Derivatives
by
The first swap was executed over thirty years ago. Since then, the interest rate swaps and other derivative markets have grown and diversified in phenomenal directions. Derivatives are used today by a myriad of institutional investors for the purposes of risk management, expressing a view on the market, and pursuing market opportunities that are otherwise unavailable using more traditional financial instruments. In this volume, Howard Corb explores the concepts behind interest rate swaps and the many derivatives that evolved from them. Corb's book uniquely marries academic rigor and real-world trading experience in a compelling, readable style. While it is filled with sophisticated formulas and analysis, the volume is geared toward a wide range of readers searching for an in-depth understanding of these markets. It serves as both a textbook for students and a must-have reference book for practitioners. Corb helps readers develop an intuitive feel for these products and their use in the market, providing a detailed introduction to more complicated trades and structures. Through examples of financial structuring, readers will come away with an understanding of how derivatives products are created and how they can be deconstructed and analyzed effectively.
International Money and Finance
by
International Money and Finance, Tenth Edition presents an institutional and historical overview of international finance and international money, illustrating how key economic concepts can illuminate real world problems. Updated throughout, this latest edition functions as a finance book that includes an international macroeconomics perspective in its final section. It emphasizes the newest trends in research, neatly defining the intersection of macro and finance. Successfully used worldwide in both finance and economics departments at both undergraduate and graduate levels, the book features current data, revised test banks, and sharp insights about the practical implications of decision-making.
Applied Modeling Techniques and Data Analysis 1
by
BIG DATA, ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE AND DATA ANALYSIS SET Coordinated by Jacques Janssen Data analysis is a scientific field that continues to grow enormously, most notably over the last few decades, following rapid growth within the tech industry, as well as the wide applicability of computational techniques alongside new advances in analytic tools. Modeling enables data analysts to identify relationships, make predictions, and to understand, interpret and visualize the extracted information more strategically. This book includes the most recent advances on this topic, meeting increasing demand from wide circles of the scientific community. Applied Modeling Techniques and Data Analysis 1 is a collective work by a number of leading scientists, analysts, engineers, mathematicians and statisticians, working on the front end of data analysis and modeling applications. The chapters cover a cross section of current concerns and research interests in the above scientific areas. The collected material is divided into appropriate sections to provide the reader with both theoretical and applied information on data analysis methods, models and techniques, along with appropriate applications.
Applied Modeling Techniques and Data Analysis 2
by
BIG DATA, ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE AND DATA ANALYSIS SET Coordinated by Jacques Janssen Data analysis is a scientific field that continues to grow enormously, most notably over the last few decades, following rapid growth within the tech industry, as well as the wide applicability of computational techniques alongside new advances in analytic tools. Modeling enables data analysts to identify relationships, make predictions, and to understand, interpret and visualize the extracted information more strategically. This book includes the most recent advances on this topic, meeting increasing demand from wide circles of the scientific community. Applied Modeling Techniques and Data Analysis 2 is a collective work by a number of leading scientists, analysts, engineers, mathematicians and statisticians, working on the front end of data analysis and modeling applications. The chapters cover a cross section of current concerns and research interests in the above scientific areas. The collected material is divided into appropriate sections to provide the reader with both theoretical and applied information on data analysis methods, models and techniques, along with appropriate applications.
Currency Politics
by
The exchange rate is the most important price in any economy, since it affects all other prices. Exchange rates are set, either directly or indirectly, by government policy. Exchange rates are also central to the global economy, for they profoundly influence all international economic activity. Despite the critical role of exchange rate policy, there are few definitive explanations
Exchange Rate Regimes
by
An empirical study of exchange rate regimes based on data compiled from 150 member countries of the International Monetary Fund over the past thirty years. Few topics in international economics are as controversial as the choice of an exchange rate regime. Since the breakdown of the Bretton Woods system in the early 1970s, countries have adopted a wide variety of regimes, ranging from pure floats at one extreme to currency boards and dollarization at the other. While a vast theoretical literature explores the choice and consequences of exchange rate regimes, the abundance of possible effects makes it difficult to establish clear relationships between regimes and common macroeconomic policy targets such as inflation and growth. This book takes a systematic look at the evidence on macroeconomic performance under alternative exchange rate regimes, drawing on the experience of some 150 member countries of the International Monetary Fund over the past thirty years. Among other questions, it asks whether pegging the exchange rate leads to lower inflation, whether floating exchange rates are associated with faster output growth, and whether pegged regimes are particularly prone to currency and other crises. The book draws on history and theory to delineate the debate and on standard statistical methods to assess the empirical evidence, and includes a CD-ROM containing the data set used.
Exchange Rate Systems and Policies in Asia
by
This important book comprises insightful papers on lessons learned from some major exchange rate and monetary experiences in Asia, exchange rate crisis management in Asia and choice of exchange rate systems in Asia. Originally published in the Singapore Economic Review, Vol. 52, No. 3, 2007, it deals primarily with the exchange rate systems and policies in the three largest economies in Asia: China, Japan and India. It also contains a paper on Singapore's exchange rate system, whose success could make it a role model for other small open economies. Notable contributors include Ronald McKinnon and John Williamson, among others. The editor is the original designer of China's latest exchange rate system reform.
Guidelines for Foreign Exchange Reserve Management
by
Electronic Resource
Multinational Finance: Evaluating the Opportunities, Costs, and Risks of Multinational Operations
by
Deep coverage and rigorous examination of international corporate finance Multinational Finance offers an advanced exploration of international corporate finance concepts and operations. Despite its status as one of the most rigorous texts on the topic, this book remains accessible and readable without sacrificing depth of coverage. Sidebars, key terms, essays, conceptual questions, and problems with solutions help aid in the learning process, while suggested readings and PowerPoint handouts reinforce the material and offer avenues for further exploration. This new sixth edition includes Excel templates that allow students to use real-world tools in a learning environment, and the modular structure facilitates course customization to individual objectives, interests, and preparatory level. The emphasis is on the basics of financial management, but coverage includes unique chapters on treasury management, asset pricing, hedging, options, and portfolio management in addition to traditional finance topics. International finance is a diverse field with myriad specialties and a vast array of possible interests. This book allows students to view the field through the lens of a financial manager with investment or financial options in more than one country to give them a practical feel for real-world application. Understand the nature and operations of international corporate finance Evaluate opportunities, costs, and risks of multinational operations See beyond the numbers and terminology to the general principles at work Learn the markets, currencies, taxation, capital structure, governance, and more Comprehensive, adaptable, and rigorously focused, this book gives students a solid foundation in international corporate finance, as well as a sound understanding of the tools and mechanics of the field. Designed for MBA and advanced undergraduate courses, Multinational Finance provides the deep coverage so essential to a solid education in finance.
Financial Risk Management
by
A global banking risk management guide geared toward the practitioner Financial Risk Management presents an in-depth look at banking risk on a global scale, including comprehensive examination of the U.S. Comprehensive Capital Analysis and Review, and the European Banking Authority stress tests. Written by the leaders of global banking risk products and management at SAS, this book provides the most up-to-date information and expert insight into real risk management. The discussion begins with an overview of methods for computing and managing a variety of risk, then moves into a review of the economic foundation of modern risk management and the growing importance of model risk management. Market risk, portfolio credit risk, counterparty credit risk, liquidity risk, profitability analysis, stress testing, and others are dissected and examined, arming you with the strategies you need to construct a robust risk management system. The book takes readers through a journey from basic market risk analysis to major recent advances in all financial risk disciplines seen in the banking industry. The quantitative methodologies are developed with ample business case discussions and examples illustrating how they are used in practice. Chapters devoted to firmwide risk and stress testing cross reference the different methodologies developed for the specific risk areas and explain how they work together at firmwide level. Since risk regulations have driven a lot of the recent practices, the book also relates to the current global regulations in the financial risk areas. Risk management is one of the fastest growing segments of the banking industry, fueled by banks' fundamental intermediary role in the global economy and the industry's profit-driven increase in risk-seeking behavior. This book is the product of the authors' experience in developing and implementing risk analytics in banks around the globe, giving you a comprehensive, quantitative-oriented risk management guide specifically for the practitioner. Compute and manage market, credit, asset, and liability risk Perform macroeconomic stress testing and act on the results Get up to date on regulatory practices and model risk management Examine the structure and construction of financial risk systems Delve into funds transfer pricing, profitability analysis, and more Quantitative capability is increasing with lightning speed, both methodologically and technologically. Risk professionals must keep pace with the changes, and exploit every tool at their disposal. Financial Risk Management is the practitioner's guide to anticipating, mitigating, and preventing risk in the modern banking industry.
International Corporate Finance
by
A thorough introduction to corporate finance from a renowned professor of finance and banking As globalization redefines the field of corporate finance, international and domestic finance have become almost inseparably intertwined. It's increasingly difficult to understand what is happening in capital markets without a firm grasp of currency markets, the investment strategies of sovereign wealth funds, carry trade, and foreign exchange derivatives products. International Corporate Finance offers thorough coverage of the international monetary climate, including Islamic finance, Asian banking, and cross-border mergers and acquisitions. Additionally, the book offers keen insight on global capital markets, equity markets, and bond markets, as well as foreign exchange risk management and how to forecast exchange rates. Offers a comprehensive discussion of the current state of international corporate finance Provides simple rules and pragmatic answers to key managerial questions and issues Includes case studies and real-world decision-making situations For anyone who wants to understand how finance works in today's hyper-connected global economy, International Corporate Finance is an insightful, practical guide to this complex subject.
Applied International Finance
by
This text is designed for use in a course in an applied international corporate finance for managers and executives. Instead of the "encyclopedic" approach, the text focuses on the two main issues of interest to managers who deal with overseas operations. The first main issue is how uncertain foreign exchange (FX) rate changes affect a firm's ongoing cash flows and equity value, and what can be done about that risk. The second main issue is the estimation of the cost of capital for international operations and the evaluation of overseas investment proposals. Numerous examples of real world companies are used. The text is divided into two parts based on the two main issues. Each part includes a case that unifies the ideas. In Part I, the case company has overseas operations and is faced with ongoing FX exposure in corporate revenues. The decision-maker estimates the FX exposure and considers financial hedging using foreign currency debt and currency swaps. The accounting implications are also considered. In Part II, the case company evaluates a proposal to expand production for a foreign market, with location alternatives being the home country, the foreign market country, or a "cheap-labour" emerging market country.
Fundamentals of Enterprise Risk Management
by
This one-stop guide provides you with the tools and information you need to keep their twenty-first-century organizations as blissfully risk-free as possible. Risk in business cannot be avoided--but that doesn't mean there isn't a better way to work through it. The problem is that most risk management strategies, books, and experts are based on outdated concepts, technologies, and markets. Since the 2008 financial crisis that set the baseline for the roller-coaster market we deal with today, combined with the constantly changing developments in technology and communications, modern-day risk management demands dealing with up-to-the-minute approaches for defending against threats. Extensively updated, the second edition of Fundamentals of Enterprise Risk Management examines the latest technologies such as Riskonnect and High Tech Electronic Platform (HTEP), and helps you: recognize both internal and external exposures, understand crucial concepts such as risk mapping and risk identification, and align risk opportunities with their organization's business model. Packed with practical exercises and fresh case studies from organizations such as IBM, Microsoft, Apple, JPMorgan Chase, and Sony, this invaluable resource is key to assessing company risk, managing exposure, and seizing opportunities.
While e-books are accessible through WorldCat Discovery , another option is to search directly in the e-book databases listed below.
Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean email username and password.
