Research Guides: Global Studies: Find Articles

Interdisciplinary Databases

"Working from off campus? If so, you must log in with your Kean email username and password."

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (NJSL)
Covers the periodical literature in a variety of academic disciplines; strong in the humanities and social sciences; good place to search for a few full-text articles.
JSTOR (ITHAKA)
Provides archival access to scholarly journals in wide-ranging academic disciplines; JSTOR does not provide the most recent issues but instead provides access to a journal's older issues.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) (VALE)
Provides one-stop access to a comprehensive collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers, covering subjects such as business, computer science, criminal justice, education, ethnic studies, gender studies, health care, psychology, religion, science, and telecommunications.

Arts & Humanities Databases

"Working from off campus? If so, you must log in with your Kean email username and password."

Ethnic Diversity Source (EBSCOhost)
"Supports the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews.”
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) (VALE)
Features LGBTQ+ journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) (VALE)
Provides scholarly information for sociology and related fields, such as criminal justice, gender studies, social psychology, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, socio-cultural anthropology, and social work.
EBSCOhost Humanities Resources
Select from Kean's EBSCOhost humanities databases for simultaneous searching.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
Provides full-text articles from international sociology and social work journals, including core titles indexed in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. Covers topics such as culture and social structure, social psychology, substance abuse, addiction, and more.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) (VALE)
Focuses upon the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the impact of gender upon a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Political & Economic Databases

"Working from off campus? If so, you must log in with your Kean email username and password."

Political Science Database (ProQuest)
Provides full-text articles from political science and international relations journals, including many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Also features conference proceedings, country profiles, doctoral dissertations, political news, working papers, and more.
Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly)
"Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations."
ProQuest: Business
Conduct simultaneous searching of Kean's ProQuest business databases.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (VALE)
Provides comprehensive coverage of business publications, including full text for the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times.

Country Specific Databases

"Working from off campus? If so, you must log in with your Kean email username and password."

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980 (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital)
“This is an essential resource for the study of the apartheid era in Southern Africa, sourced exclusively from The National Archives, UK. It provides unparalleled analysis of South African politics, trade relations, international opinion and humanitarian dilemmas against a backdrop of waning colonialism and mounting world condemnation.”
Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest) (VALE)
Focuses on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout Asia and Europe.
Britannica Online (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
The academic online version of the famous Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922 (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital)
“This resource explores the diplomatic history of Central Asia and provides digital access to official British government records relating to the region, from the decline of the Silk Road, through the diplomatic confrontation between the British and Russian Empires known as the “Great Game”, to the influence of the emergent Soviet Union in the twentieth century.”
China: Culture and Society (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital)
“Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this digital collection makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, at Cornell University Library; one of the oldest and most distinctive collections of its kind, and a very rich source for research on China.”
Continental Europe Database (ProQuest)
Features articles from academic journals published in many European countries. Subject areas covered include business, education, engineering, humanities, science, social sciences, and technology.
East Europe, Central Europe Database (ProQuest)
Features articles from academic journals published in many East European and Central European countries. Subject areas covered include business, education, engineering, humanities, science, social sciences, and technology.
East India Company (AM Explorer/Adam Matthew Digital)
"From 16th-century origins as a trading venture to the East Indies, through to its rise as the world’s most powerful company and de facto ruler of India, to its demise amid allegations of greed and corruption – the East India Company was an extraordinary force in global history for three centuries."
Middle East & Africa Database (ProQuest)
Features articles from academic journals published in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Subject areas covered include business, education, engineering, humanities, science, social sciences, and technology.

Newspaper Databases

Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank)
Features news from approximately 12,000 local, regional, national, and international sources, including the Newark Star-Ledger and over 180 New Jersey newswires, newspapers, transcripts, and blogs. Updated daily, it offers valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events.
Asian Newsstream (ProQuest) (VALE)
Features over 60 national and regional news sources from Asia and the Far East. Select publications include China News, The Wall Street Journal Asia, and the Bangkok Post.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) (VALE)
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) database of newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses. The collection also includes historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959 to 1989.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries)
"Includes 1,000 titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). The newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national, and international news. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."
International Newsstream (ProQuest) (VALE)
Features a comprehensive collection of more than 660 international newspapers, newswires, and news sites, including Financial Times, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, and Wall Street Journal Asia.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries)
"The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection includes publications from this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historical events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (VALE)
Digital image archive of the New York Times beginning in September 1851 and ending several years before the current year.
South Asian Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries)
"The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more. With reportage dating as far back as the 1850s, the South Asian Newspapers collection provides a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries. Open access to the South Asian Newspapers collection is made possible thanks to the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions."

Periodical Databases

You can find articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, or newspapers by searching in periodical databases. Periodical databases always contain:

Citations -- author, title of article, title of journal, volume, issue, date and pages.

They may also contain:

Abstracts -- summaries of article content.

Complete articles -- in full-text or pdf image format.

When full-text links are not available, you can check for full-text access in other databases by clicking Full Text Finder.

Please note: sometimes you see only the symbol (and not the words "Full Text Finder"). In these cases, click the symbol to check for full-text access in other databases.

Relevant Journals

Global Change, Peace & Security
Full Text Access:
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library (2003-present)
Globalizations
Full Text Access:
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library (2004-present)
Academic Search Premier (2004-present) - (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Identities: Global Studies in Culture and Power
Full Text Access:
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library (1997-present)
Journal of Global South Studies
Full Text Access:
ProQuest Central (1997-present)
SocINDEX with Full Text (2016-present)
Academic Search Premier (2016-present)
Journal of Political Economy
Full Text Access:
Chicago Complete Collection - Full Run (1892-present)
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection
(1892-present) - (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
Business Source Elite (1985-present) - (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
JSTOR Free Early Journal Content (1892-1928)

Global Studies

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Suggested Search Terms/Keywords

What Is a Peer Reviewed Journal?

Already Have an Article Citation?

Request Articles from Other Libraries through Interlibrary Loan

Interdisciplinary Databases

Arts & Humanities Databases

Political & Economic Databases

Country Specific Databases

Newspaper Databases

Periodical Databases

Relevant Journals

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact