This guide assists with training, resources, and best practices for Art educators. This encompasses all of the different ways that students can learn about and engage with the arts including classes in painting, drawing, and much more.
Working from off campus?If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.
EBSCOhost Primary/Secondary Grade Level ResourcesThis link opens in a new windowSelect from Kean's EBSCOhost primary and secondary grade level databases, along with the Teacher Reference Center, for simultaneous searching.
Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL)This link opens in a new windowDesigned for middle school students, includes biographies, popular middle school magazines, historical essays, primary source documents, and an extensive image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
NoveList (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) -- ComplimentaryThis link opens in a new windowProvides readers' advisory resources for all ages, including: author read alikes, book discussion guides, author biographies, booktalks, and lists of award winning titles.
NoveList K-8 (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) -- ComplimentaryThis link opens in a new windowContains readers' advisory tools for children and teens. Topic coverage includes booktalks, recommended reads, curricular connections, author biographies, and picture book extenders.
Primary Search (EBSCOhost / JerseyClicks) (NJSL)This link opens in a new windowOffers resources for elementary school students, including a children’s dictionary and an extensive image collection of maps, photos, and flags.
Curriculum Guides Online
Listed below are curriculum guides from New Jersey School Districts.
Berkeley Heights Public SchoolsThe Berkeley Heights Public Schools curriculum guides are in compliance with the New Jersey Student Learning Standards.
Bernard Township Public Schools"Summer Curriculum Updates - Summer 2023 for the 2023-2024 School Year
"Each summer the curriculum department completes curriculum projects. The work from summer 2023 is summarized below".
Edison Township Public Schools"The first section of this website provides basic information about curriculum. Programs are regularly assessed with guides being updated on a 5-year cycle. Copies of curriculum guides are available for a printing fee from the Curriculum and Instruction Office. Contact the Curriculum Office to obtain a curriculum guide".
Ewing Township Public Schools"The New Jersey Student Learning Standards include Preschool Teaching and Learning Standards as well as K-12 standards for: Visual and Performing Arts; Comprehensive Health and Physical Education; Science; Social Studies; World Languages; Technology; and 21st-Century Life and Careers. Standards for Mathematics and Language Arts Literacy are part of the Common Core State Standards initiative coordinated by the Council of Chief States School Officers (CCSSO) and the National Governor’s Association (NGA) in partnership with other national organizations. New Jersey is one of 44 states, Washington, DC and the U.S. Virgin Islands to join the state-led Common Core State Standards initiative".
Fair Lawn Public Schools"Our curriculum maps represent a guide for sharing the essential learning and skills we expect our students to know and be able to do at the completion of each course or grade level, broken down into units of study. This document serves as a framework for our learning goals".
Franklin Lakes Public Schools"New Jersey’s academic standards guide the development, implementation, and evaluation of curriculum. In June 2020, the New Jersey State Board of Education adopted the New Jersey Student Learning Standards 2020".
Garfield School District"The district curriculum is a living document and as a result, curriculum revision is is is on-going, dynamic and flexible; with opportunities for continuous improvement based on students’ instructional needs that are aligned with state student learning standards".
Jersey City Public Schools"The Jersey City Board of Education’s Department of Curriculum & Instruction serves the educational needs of the students of Jersey City with more than twenty departments and programs. We advocate and support the teaching and learning that assists all students in reaching their maximum academic potential, and provides enriching educational support and services for all professional staff members".
Kenilworth Schools"All district curricula can be download by clicking the appropriate links. Curricula are revised every five years."
Mount Laurel Schools"Our teams of highly-skilled staff members, specializing in their subject areas, work together to develop curriculum guides for each subject. Our curriculum is based on best-practice research and study in all subject areas".
North Brunswick Township Public Schools"Curriculum Overviews - North Brunswick Township School Curriculum being taught at each grade level integrates the New Jersey Student Learning Standards (NJSLS). We teach for deep understanding of the "big ideas" in each content area, and we encourage students to wonder about the "essential questions." Technology and skills for life and careers in the 21st Century are integrated into instruction in meaningful ways. Students and teachers use digital tools and information to solve problems individually and collaboratively to create and communicate knowledge".
Paterson Public SchoolsAll district curricula can be accessed by clicking the appropriate links.
South Brunswick School District"The South Brunswick School District lives its mission statement: To prepare students to be lifelong learners, critical thinkers, effective communicators and wise decision makers. This will be accomplished through the use of the New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards (NJCCCS) and/or the New Jersey Student Learning Standards (NJSLS) at all grade levels. The schools will maintain an environment that promotes intellectual challenge, creativity, social and emotional growth and the healthy physical development of each student".
Toms River Regional Schools"Toms River Regional Schools' curriculum creates the structure to help students master learning standards using a research-based approach that drives student inquiry, encourages creativity, and prepares students for college, careers, and life."
Vineland Public Schools"Vineland Public Schools offers a rich, challenging, and comprehensive curriculum, from pre-kindergarten through adult opportunities. The curriculum is designed to provide students with many learning experiences that will enable them to succeed and attain fulfillment. The curriculum of Vineland Public Schools is reviewed and revised on a regular basis within a 5-year Quality Assurance Cycle. During this cycle, committees made up of teachers, administrators, parents, and community representatives study each curriculum area, review and research the most successful programs nationwide, and recommend changes to assure that the curriculum meets the needs of students and society. The cycle includes 5 stages: Review, Development, Pilot, Implementation, and Evaluation".
