Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art History

This guide contains library resources on the history of Art, as well as links to internal and external sources on these subjects

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

African-American Art

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Art and Architecture in Italy, 1600-1750

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

The Art and Architecture of Islam, 1250-1800

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Art and Society in Italy 1350-1500

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Art in China

Reference Collection (First Floor)

Art in Europe, 1700-1830

Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

The Dictionary of Art

Reference Collection(First Floor)

Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-3

Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture

Reference Collection (First Floor)
Volumes 1-3

Recommended Online Encyclopedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Image Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.