On Site Physical Books
Designing a Digital Portfolio by
The world has gone digital--which means that a paper portfolio is no longer good enough. These days, as a creative professional, you're expected to be able to show your work on demand--whether that means emailing it to a client, displaying it on a Web site, or delivering it on CD or DVD. This book shows you how. Using a combination of step-by-step instructions and inspiring examples, veteran authorCynthia Barontakes you through the entire process of designing a digital portfolio--from developing a concept and choosing a medium, to scanning work created with traditional materials; optimizing digitized art; repurposing digital material; creating a portfolio Web site, CD, or DVD; producing a portable portfolio; and avoiding technical pitfalls when digitizing, organizing, and delivering the final product. You'll also find loads of insights from the professionals who evaluate artist portfolios everyday--agency heads, art directors, and designers--plus handy checklists, a run-down of dos and don'ts, case studies, and tips.
Graphic Design Solutions by
GRAPHIC DESIGN SOLUTIONS, 6th EDITION, is the most comprehensive reference on graphic design for print and screen media. It introduces the principles of design and how they apply to the various graphic design disciplines--all explained and illustrated with vivid, professional art and diagrams. Providing a solid foundation for typographic design, advertising design and graphic design, its in-depth coverage includes such topics as design principles, the design process, concept generation, branding and visual identity, design for web and mobile, package design, portfolio development, social media, ad campaigns and more. GRAPHIC DESIGN SOLUTIONS has everything you need to know to start formulating concepts and creating powerful, effective visual messages.
Stand Out by
The design marketplace has never been more competitive, or demanded more from emerging talent. To succeed, you must navigate the transition from learner to professional with purpose and precision. In Stand Out: Building Your Design Portfolio, Denise Anderson offers a hands-on, three-step, full-color action plan for establishing your unique brand, crafting a killer portfolio, tailoring and delivering your message, getting your perfect design job, and excelling once you're hired. In this superbly organized and beautifully designed book, Anderson distills 20+ years of experience as a graphic designer, entrepreneur, instructor, and mentor, offering you powerful insights and easy-to-use tools for successfully launching your career. Whether you're in graphic design, advertising design, interactive or web design, fashion, or any other design field, Anderson will help you identify what makes you unique, and use it powerfully differentiate yourself from everyone else. Stand Out's step-by-step approach, hands-on work exercises, and short, easy-to-absorb chapters guide you through: Clarifying your brand purpose and unique attributes Designing your brand identity, encompassing all brand touchpoints Creating an online presence that showcases you at your best Self-promoting your brand, from social media to print "leave-behinds" Optimizing your portfolio for the industry and company where you want to work Discovering what's hot in portfolio design and strategy - and what's not Understanding what employers want from you Producing your digital and/or print portfolio Choosing your mentor(s) and creating your personal advisory board Developing a personal job plan you can start executing right now Protecting your work against theft Identifying your dream job Writing and designing outstanding resumes and job-specific cover letters Interviewing and presenting your work effectively Accepting a position and negotiating salary Succeeding in your first job, and preparing for the next Stand Out brings together all the easy-to-use forms, checklists, and tools you'll need... multiple examples of great student and young professional portfolio work to show you how it's done... dozens of great tips and tricks... "in the trenches" insights from recent graduates... all you need to get where you want to go!
Electronic Books
Building Design Portfolios by
Presenting one's portfolio is where every designer begins his or her career. Therefore, crafting a portfolio, whether online or for presentation in person, is an essential skill for survival. Because a portfolio can make or break a career, it is vital that designers go out armed with all the right moves and materials.
This book talks both to the professionals who have both designed their own portfolios and those on the other side of the table who have looked at scores of portfolios, to uncover the tips and tricks that have won jobs, as well as the must-avoid moves that have lost opportunities. This book is not only a handbook for dos and don'ts; it also provides plenty of inspiration from a wide collection of portfolios, both virtual and real-life.
This book asks leaders in the field about the real-world realities of presenting one's work for consideration and answers the question, "What sells and what doesn't"?
Design: Portfolio by
Featuring a curated collection of approximately 300 exquisite designs, along with essays from designers in the field about the essence and importance of a good portfolio design, Design: Portfolionbsp;contains mini-workshops that dissect several featured projects and highlight the effectiveness of exceptional designnbsp;treatments from around the world. Designers will discover the underlying details that make each design so special. This is an exciting new addition to the informative and inspiring Design series by Rockport Publishers that offers the best of design in practice.
Design Matters by
The design bar is at an all-time high for those brave enough to participate in the industry. Today's designers must be clear on all the steps necessary to create work that stands out in an increasingly competitive marketplace. Unfortunately, most design books only focus on type, color, and layout issues. The Design Matters series takes a more in-depth approach, allowing designers to learn not only how to create work that is aesthetically appealing, but also strategy-driven and smart. This compilation features the best of the Design Matters series, indispensable guides to design, in one handy volume. Design Matters focuses on developing, creating and implementing brochure designs, logo designs, packaging, and portfolios. The compendium includes all the essential information needed to execute strong designs in concert with beautiful and well-crafted examples, so that designers can successfully hit the mark every time.
Design Matters: Portfolios 01 by
During the past few years, portfolio management and self-promotion have taken on a far greater role within a graphic designer's business model. The degree to which they can increase their earned revenue through exceptionally defined, marketing-oriented promotions and portfolio management is paramount. These individuals and agencies now identify their product as cultural tourism and stress the role of their work as economic generators. This book defines the core elements of self-promotion and portfolio creation and provides the insights graphic designers need to showcase their work in unique and creative ways. Case studies demonstrate the different techniques designers use to create successful portfolios for different audiences and measure the results of those efforts. The book also details how often portfolios should be updated and distributed and determine workable budgets to produce a great portfolio.
